English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 August 2008, 06:59   #201
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 666
Now we're getting somewhere.

As I suspected channel steering works independently of Vista's "sound enhancements", all the code you need is demonstrated in the multispeakerout example that comes with FMOD. By using a combination of setSpeakerLevels() and setSpeakerMix() you can assign inputs to outputs very easily, you could even make it user configurable.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 07:09   #202
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
works independently of Vista's "sound enhancements"
"independant" as in "uncompatible"?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 13:44   #203
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
Ok, had a look at that example... so basically I just turn on all speakers with setSpeakerMix.

Do you always want the sound in all speakers? Or do I have to make it configurable?
bLAZER is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 13:45   #204
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
Me? Oh, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 13:58   #205
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
You never only use left and right?
bLAZER is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 14:01   #206
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
nope
Shoonay is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 14:48   #207
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
Ok, I'll skip the configuration for now then, until someone complains... I'll compile a new version soon.
bLAZER is offline  
Old 08 August 2008, 14:56   #208
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
can't wait, oh baby, yes!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 10 August 2008, 16:18   #209
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
Ok, see if this works then
bLAZER is offline  
Old 10 August 2008, 16:27   #210
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
oh man, no it doesn't, still doesn't, only 2.1...

just to make sure i've downloaded the 1st version again and it play's the same files in 5.1 perfectly...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 10 August 2008, 16:32   #211
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
Ok.... so Oddbod, which FMOD version did you use in your test app, and what code exactly?
bLAZER is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 14:24   #212
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 666
FMOD Ex 4.16, note that it is not my application I just took the included multispeakeroutput binary (the source is in examples\multispeakeroutput\main.c) from the API examples and tweaked the sound file paths with a hex editor.

The problem is obviously that you are still not calling setSpeakerLevels() to setup the channel assignments, I know you aren't doing it because the Multiplayer binary doesn't have the function in it's IAT! Your init code should look something like this or like the multispeakeroutput example.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y
just to make sure i've downloaded the 1st version again and it play's the same files in 5.1 perfectly...
It only plays through 2 channels for me regardless of speaker setup.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 14:51   #213
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
just to make sure i've downloaded the 1st version again and it play's the same files in 5.1 perfectly...
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
It only plays through 2 channels for me regardless of speaker setup.
On Vista? [Speaker Fill] on? lol
I mean I know it does only play in 2 channels only, but as in every stereo sound - it's Vista's sound engine that *SHOULD* come into play and fill the other channels.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 20:20   #214
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
I still don't understand this... A friend played a test 5.1 sound and it played fine in all speakers. So it's just the fill thing that isn't working... seems stupid/unlikely to work if I have to use

Code:
        float levels[2] = { 0, 0 };
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)0, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)1, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)2, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)3, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)4, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)5, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)6, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)7, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)8, levels, 2);
        channel->setSpeakerLevels((FMOD_SPEAKER)9, levels, 2);
but sure, I'll give it a try
bLAZER is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 20:24   #215
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
Ok, try it now then: http://andreas.blazer.nu/programs/test.zip
bLAZER is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 23:34   #216
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by bLAZER View Post
I still don't understand this...
Me neither... IT STILL DOESN'T WORK!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by bLAZER View Post
A friend played a test 5.1 sound and it played fine in all speakers.
On a Viśta x64? With the [immidiate response] and [speaker fill] options enabled?

No idea what seems to be the problem.
I've just tried those MOD's & SID's I tried with MultiPlayer with the WinAMP SID plugin and after selecting the [play in stereo] (in the plugin) option the sound was wonderfully filled into all speakers!

I'm no programmerer, but maybe you shouldn't let all the speakers get filled/play in your software, just make sure the stereo sound is output and the [speaker fill] option will do the rest?

Would somebody please test this on Vista x64 too?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 00:50   #217
bLAZER
Awesome to the max
 
bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 1,006
The test sound was a 5.1 sound. Like " - left front speaker" "right rear speaker" etc. And it played the sound in the correct speakers. If that works, one could believe that the fill stereo option would work aswell... but nope.

So neither seems to work: setting all the speakers, and mixing them, or don't do anything and let the [speaker fill] do the work
bLAZER is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 01:45   #218
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
you mean the file was in 5.1? as in a *.ac3 format?
did your friend try a stereo or mono file?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 01:54   #219
Shoonay
Global Caturator
 
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Age: 43
Posts: 6,107
just a quick try of the *.ac3 format from Bjorn Lynne's free surround music download, and... ac3 isn't suported...

what file did he try? might i try it too?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 02:08   #220
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
 
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 6,949
5h00n4y, do all developers a big favor and drop the vista madness. Seriously. Don't make it so hard on us poor sods Run an OS that works!
gimbal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga music player on PC moriez Amiga scene 38 07 September 2020 16:23
Music player with Batman glr Looking for a game name ? 2 04 January 2012 14:02
Best music player quantum112 support.Apps 9 06 January 2010 09:59
FAT Player MikMod v5 (amiga mod player for Nintendo DS) spajdr Amiga scene 0 14 August 2008 21:55
New Amiga Music Player Ian Amiga scene 1 08 October 2001 20:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:10.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11197 seconds with 14 queries