English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 January 2010, 12:23   #1
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
Best music player

What is the best music player for the A500 that I could put on a floppy? I need it to play S3M, MOD, and all the other common formats that Amiga music came in... also, can I just put the music on a floppy and load it in and play it using the player like I do a game?

Thanks
quantum112 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 04 January 2010, 12:31   #2
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 988
EaglePlayer!

but can the 500 play s3m's? i cant remeber
mihcael is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 12:35   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 4,927
For a plain A500 I'd recommend HippoPlayer.
StingRay is online now  
Old 04 January 2010, 13:05   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 10,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
can the 500 play s3m's?
Very unlikely. I guess it would depend on the mod.

S3M has support for 32-channels. To down mix to four for Paula will be beyond the capability of a 7MHz 68000. It struggles with 8.
alexh is offline  
Old 05 January 2010, 04:49   #5
sun68
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Very unlikely. I guess it would depend on the mod.

S3M has support for 32-channels. To down mix to four for Paula will be beyond the capability of a 7MHz 68000. It struggles with 8.
The ScreamTracker is Lame and old.
sun68 is offline  
Old 05 January 2010, 23:02   #6
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum112 View Post
What is the best music player for the A500 that I could put on a floppy? I need it to play S3M, MOD, and all the other common formats that Amiga music came in... also, can I just put the music on a floppy and load it in and play it using the player like I do a game?

Thanks
if you have kick 2.0 or higher in your A500 you can try eagleplayer or any other player on aminet
but if your A500 have kick1.2 or 1.3 you can try protracker (any old version)

and of course you can load the music from a floppy and then play it
Fabie is offline  
Old 05 January 2010, 23:24   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 4,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabie View Post
but if your A500 have kick1.2 or 1.3 you can try protracker (any old version)
He wants a music player, not a tracker. While a tracker can play mods (he wants to play more formats, see his post), it's still not a music player for obvious reasons.
StingRay is online now  
Old 06 January 2010, 09:19   #8
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
He wants a music player, not a tracker. While a tracker can play mods (he wants to play more formats, see his post), it's still not a music player for obvious reasons.
eagleplayer requires kick 2.0 and 1.5mb ram
but Hippo player will work on the A500...I just downloaded it and checked docs...it requires kick1.2+ and some memory
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 January 2010, 09:58   #9
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabie View Post
eagleplayer requires kick 2.0 and 1.5mb ram
but Hippo player will work on the A500...I just downloaded it and checked docs...it requires kick1.2+ and some memory
Im not sure that eagleplayer does require that ks, i remeber using it on a 500, perhaps it was an older version?
mihcael is offline  
Old 06 January 2010, 09:59   #10
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 4,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Im not sure that eagleplayer does require that ks, i remeber using it on a 500, perhaps it was an older version?
Older versions definitely work on a 1MB A500, not sure about the KS though.
StingRay is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BZR Player - a new music player for Win bLAZER Retrogaming General Discussion 604 10 March 2014 01:37
Amiga music player on PC moriez Amiga scene 37 24 October 2010 02:06
Help needed with music player swirlythingy Coders. General 3 22 May 2010 16:24
Name a music player proggy Mike UK Looking for a game name ? 2 12 April 2007 22:41
New Amiga Music Player Ian Amiga scene 1 08 October 2001 20:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13478 seconds with 11 queries