English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

Old 13 May 2003, 16:22   #1
Step

Smile Newbie from the Crypt

Hello there; as implied by the title I'm totally new to this so excuse the up-&-coming cluelessness

Right: I'm running Winuae & AIAM on a 1.8 athlon 256mb geoforce2 XP machine. I've got a legal kick (3.1) workbench thing, so I should be sorted, right? Er, nope

My problem is that when I downloaded Black Crypt (thus the title) and Wizardry 6 from back2roots & try to run them I get an error message about 34 kickrom.

I've looked this up & it seems that I needed 1.3 rom. Great, can get that. However, I've then read that you can't run HD's from 1.3, and as both of these are HD's I'm stuck. I get a hand inserting icon of 1.3 but can't work out how to run them or AIAM using 1.3.

Looking over the posts here I see I need a save disk, which I've got but I really can't get to the stage where I can load them, so if possible, can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Secondly, when running AIAM I have a problem with the keyboard: many games (Altered Beast, Disposable Hero etc) load fine but then say 'press fire to start'. I've tried fiddling with the keyboard/mouse emulation in winuae (by pressing F12) but can't seem to get it to work. No keyboard presses mimic 'fire' & so I'm stuck looking at the intro screen. I'm sure I'm missing something really obvious, but again, could someone tell me how to get this to work?

Sorry if this goes against the rules of the forum, I'm not trying to get the kicks or anything, merely trying to work out how to use them! If anyone could help, it would be much appreciated. I've downloaded a few configs (from back2roots) but they don't seem to work- I suspect its because AIAM has only detected my original 3.1 rom/workbench, but I'm not sure. I understand how to run ADF's but running the HD images is proving ultra-tricky.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help

Old 13 May 2003, 17:33   #2
CodyJarrett