English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. Blitz Basic

Old 05 December 2015, 18:01   #1
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Fastest way to blit things on screen

I've been playing a little bit with Blitz Basic... I've made a small test, inserting a new blob on screen per second, to see how long the blitter starts chugging...

I was surprised (maybe not *that* surprised ) that it didn't take long before it didn't manage to draw everything, and then begun droping frames.

I am using the qbit method to blit them on screen, and cleaning the queue before each frame.

Is this the fastest way to do it?

I still have to see to make a doublebuffer, which will probably speed-up things.

my code is below. feel free to make any suggestions or point anything really wrong or stupid on my code, since I am just beginning with Blitz Basic, I need to hear this kind of stuff

EDIT
this is a picture of the code running:
Old 06 December 2015, 00:10   #2
Daedalus

There doesn't look like there's much wrong with your code really. Are you running it with the debugger turned on? That slows down the code a lot, so once you have your code working properly you can turn it off to let it run at full speed.

QBlits are slower than normal Blits, so it could be sped up by just using the standard Blit command. Of course, you lose the ability to track and erase your previous blits so that's not always ideal.

Bear in mind as well that it's possible you don't need to blit every object every frame. Maybe only blit the first 20 items in the first frame, the next 20 items in the 2nd frame and so on. It needs a little bit more coordination, but it means you should be able to have a large number of items under control on the screen without slowdown.
Old 06 December 2015, 01:47   #3
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Yeah, I thought about this, blitting half of objects in odd frames and other half in even frames.