English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 10 December 2006, 13:27   #1
Damon2

Copy harddisk to hdf

Hello everyone i'm new here and for what i've read i've found very interesting this group...

I'm a newbie of the amiga scene and i'd like to receive help (if possible) for my problem.
I've an Amiga 1200 with harddisk with 2 partitions and from when i discovered winUAE i'd like to perfectly copy/clone my harddisk with workbench and the installed games/programs into an hdf file (but since i've partitions i think i'll have to do 2 hdfs) so i can keep using my 1200 on my notebook... Is it possible? How can i do that? (i'm a newbie and i'd like a step to step guide of commands or tools to use) I've already connected the real HD to my pc and used it with winUAE but i don't know how to "clone" it to an hdf file.

And (if i'm not asking too much) in case of future changes made with winuae on the hdf, i'd like to "update" the real harddisk.. Like doing a sort of "synchronization" between the hdf and the real harddisk.. is it possible this too?

Thanks for reading (and answering i hope)

Old 10 December 2006, 13:40   #2
thomas

Quote:
i'd like to perfectly copy/clone my harddisk with workbench and the installed games/programs into an hdf
Run WinUAE, go to Hard Drives, click on Add Harddrive, select your Amiga HDD and click on Create Hard Disk Image File. You need only one. Since version 0.8.22 WinUAE can handle multiple partitions in one HDF.

Quote:
And (if i'm not asking too much) in case of future changes made with winuae on the hdf, i'd like to "update" the real harddisk.. Like doing a sort of "synchronization" between the hdf and the real harddisk.. is it possible this too?
Well, not easily. You could write back the image file to your Amiga HDD but then all changes you made to the HDD with your A1200 are lost.

You should rather consider to connect the two computers via network and share drives.