English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

Old 12 April 2023, 16:45   #1
thebdj

Noob having CPU/lag issues

Hi All,

Full disclosure, I am a complete noob to this emulation scene and I am not surprised at all that I am immediately having issues that I have no doubt you will laugh at me for. I am really keen on learning and sorting this stuff myself so please be gentle with me haha

So ... I have WinUAE. I downloaded and paid for all of the ROMs from Amiga Forever and believe I have myself set and ready to go. I followed the basics for setup from the really helpful videos on YouTube from MikeyGRetro. So far so good ...

When I select an Amiga to emulate, let's assume an A500, an A500+, an A600 or even an A1200, I have what can only be described as an epic lag issue. Everything is running hyper slow and the audio is choppy (mainly because it is running slowly and sounds rank). This happens with numerous games, so I am happy it is not a rogue ROM.

Something that is obvious to me when I run the emulator is the CPU in the bottom right showing it is running at 140-170% which feels like a reason it may be suffering!

My PC is only a few months old and is fairly beefy. Intel i7 12 Core. 32GB of DDR4 RAM. 8GB Nvidia RTX 3060 Ti Graphics card.

Obviously happy to give way more information I am likely missing from how I am emulating but any help will be much appreciated and apologies again if I am doing something really frustrating that is obvious to you all.

Cheers
Justin
Old 12 April 2023, 18:45   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer

Open Paths panel before starting emulation, tick "Enable full logging" checkbox. Then load config and start emulation normally. Let it run 10 seconds or so, then enter GUI (F12), click "Save all". Attach zip file it created. File contains logs and current config which usually is enough to solve the problem.
Old 13 April 2023, 13:36   #3
thebdj