English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2014, 04:29   #1
marduk_kurios
move $dff006,$dff180
 
marduk_kurios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 66
Illegal Operator on Include

Hi.

I encountered this problem several times, with different include files using different ASM-One versions (from 1.02 to 1.20) on Kickstart 1.3.

When assembling this:

Code:
    INCDIR    asm:include1.3/

    include    exec/exec_lib.i
    include    libraries/dos_lib.i
    include    libraries/dos.i
    include    intuition/intuition_lib.i
I get

Code:
** Illegal Operator
5    include    libraries/dos.i
Now, I am not really good with this (yet). But for the heck of it I checked whether I could assemble dos.i. However, I get:

Code:
** Illegal Operator
53   STRUCTURE DateStamp,0
Is this my problem? What could I do except to not use includes...?
marduk_kurios is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 17:02   #2
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,344
The STRUCTURE macro is defined in exec/types.i so try including that first.
mark_k is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 21:59   #3
marduk_kurios
move $dff006,$dff180
 
marduk_kurios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 66
Damn. This fixed it.

I feel rather stupid.

Thank you, good sir.
marduk_kurios is offline  
Old 07 February 2014, 08:13   #4
Hewitson
Registered User
 
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 3,773
Always good idea to do a grep in these sorts of situations
Hewitson is offline  
Old 02 August 2017, 19:27   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
 
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 43
Posts: 4,190
Have a similar problem here, however the above is not the explanation in my case I think..

When I do 'incdir sources:include/' it stops at that line and says 'illegal operator'. And I am 100% sure this path exists. See pics. It says this no matter what I type after incdir.

It does the same with INCLUDE.

Am using Asm-Pro 1.18.

Edit: The solution just dawned on me.. 'incdir' should not be located all the way to the left because then it becomes a label and obviously then it fails to recognize the rest of the line as an operator. So after indenting those lines, it is working.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1000353.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	93.0 KB
ID:	53979   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1000354.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	130.6 KB
ID:	53980  

Last edited by demolition; 02 August 2017 at 21:21.
demolition is offline  
Old 02 August 2017, 22:23   #6
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,627
Yep, if you uncheck the Label: option the Assembler must interpret words at the very start of a line as a label, or labels wouldn't be possible. With Label: option on, words at the very start of a line can be interpreted as directives, instructions, etc. again.

AsmTwo does show the line in error inside an include, I added that because it's a must-have.
Photon is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 19:28   #7
dissident
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by marduk_kurios View Post
Damn. This fixed it.

I feel rather stupid.

Thank you, good sir.
No, you don't have to feel stupid. Years ago I had the same problem, but I changed the relevant structures by hand to RSRESET, RS.B or RS.W or RS.L and so on. Much work for nothing. That was stupid.
dissident is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 21:14   #8
demolition
Unregistered User
 
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 43
Posts: 4,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by dissident View Post
No, you don't have to feel stupid. Years ago I had the same problem
Maybe you had the problem about the same time? Hint: You're replying to a 3½ year old post.
demolition is offline  
Old 04 August 2017, 20:09   #9
dissident
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Maybe you had the problem about the same time? Hint: You're replying to a 3½ year old post.
You are absolutely right. I should read the threads more carefully. And yes, it was about 4-5 years ago I had this problem. But I was not a member of the English Amiga Board and also didn't know about its existence.
dissident is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange AsmOne operator phx Coders. Asm / Hardware 23 18 March 2015 23:13
Devpac with include disk BlueAchenar request.Apps 6 09 December 2008 00:58
Devpac with Include disk? JMike request.Apps 12 04 December 2007 21:48
HD Installers - now illegal? rattus Amiga scene 20 29 September 2003 00:25
illegal operation Traquer support.WinUAE 12 08 April 2002 10:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:36.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08447 seconds with 15 queries