English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amix

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2019, 19:09   #1
joethezombie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 24
"sort: fatal: line too long" when installing under WinUAE

One day in, and I'm already incompetent.

I'm using WinUAE 4.1, and the AMIX install media from the Amiga Unix Wiki. It seems to be going well, but I have a problem with sort: fatal: line too long. Always occurs in the same portions of the installation. I've tried re-downloading the tape image. Any ideas?
Code:
[...]
Installing GNU Emacs editor
Installing Games
Installing Amiga source code
sort: fatal: line too long
Installing GNU emacs source code
Installing Other GNU source code, part 1
Installing Other GNU source code, part 2
Installing Shareware and public domain source
Installing X window source code - X11R4
sort: fatal: line too long
Installing X window source code - X11R5
Done reading tape.
Rewinding tape...

Patching kernel...
Installation kernel patch failed.

Press RETURN to restart the installation script.
joethezombie is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 21:02   #2
SeanOBr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 6
Are you following the installation guide on here? http://www.amigaunix.com/doku.php/installation
SeanOBr is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 21:13   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,465
There are many broken tape images floating around. Does the tape image contain only files called 01, 02 and so on and has index.tape file?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 21:15   #4
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 180
Never seen that error before. Try doing a minimal install and add the packages afterwards with the pkgadd command? Most of the src packages aren't of any use, apart from the amiga source code. Might be worth checking the md5 checksum of the tape, mine is :
Code:
md5sum amix21-tape.tar 
4c487e0ef6cddc7f54029a91f299575b  amix21-tape.tar
md5sum amix_2.1.7z 
5637778b0e559c66ac5ebbbda909578d  amix_2.1.7z
Can't remember which one is the original downloaded from amigaunix.com.

Last edited by Noth; 13 February 2019 at 22:43. Reason: wrong command for pkg adding
Noth is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 21:22   #5
joethezombie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 24
I'm using the guide and media from the amigaunix.com webpage.
http://www.amigaunix.com/doku.php/installation
and the files linked directly on that install document.

The tape .zip contains index.tape and 00 - 28 files
filename: amix_21_tape.zip
md5: f73ce4962a00e6818ea956d11b8b1429

Not surprising the hash doesn't match yours, Noth, as different filename and archive type (.zip vs .tar vs .7z)
joethezombie is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 22:19   #6
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 659
I followed that guide and got the same result
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 22:49   #7
joethezombie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 24
Alrighty, I regressed down to WinUAE 3.5 (previously using 4.1), and was able to complete the installation. Not sure what's happening, but the older version got me through using the same config.
joethezombie is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 18:44   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,465
I tried full Amix install with 4.2 beta: no errors during install. Used defaults (except selected "2) Everything on the tape"). HD was 999M. 68030 + MMU + fastest possible. No more compatible or anything else that would make emulation slower.

I am also quite sure I retested installation during 4.0 or 4.1 betas so perhaps there is some config difference?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 19:37   #9
joethezombie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 24
Ok, I just nuked my WinUAE directories. Installed a nice fresh copy of 4.1. Started a new AMIX config, left off the compatibility options as you suggested... Just ran everything full speed ahead.

Poof! Install ran right through, no problems!
joethezombie is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 19:38   #10
SeanOBr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 6
Good stuff
SeanOBr is offline  
Old 15 February 2019, 12:03   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,465
I checked the guide. More compatible is not very useful when running normal applications, it is more useful only in accurate modes like when running A500/A1200 games or demos or running debuggers or testing programs. (68020+ and more compatible: prefetch and instruction cache is emulated which is very expensive to emulate and there may be some issues in some situations, especially when MMU is also in use).

Guide should also mention A2410 display card. It is out of the box supported in Amix and enables 256 color X-Window. http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=261
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 February 2019, 16:46   #12
joethezombie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 24
Ah neat, thanks so much Toni. So very cool for you to devote some of your time to AMIX. Really appreciated!
joethezombie is offline  
Old 15 February 2019, 22:31   #13
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 659
I tried again with “more compatible” deselected and the installer completed without errors! (Running under Wine also)
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 15 February 2019, 22:41   #14
joethezombie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 24
Ah, very good alpine! I was happy to see I wasn't alone getting that error... not that I wish any misery on anyone.

I guess in this case, "more compatible" is not! Plus, we get the bonus of a pretty good speed jump installing it!
joethezombie is offline  
Old 16 February 2019, 00:32   #15
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 659
Edit: double post
alpine9000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"ELF Library" error installing 4.1 in WinUAE mroshaw support.WinUAE 1 10 December 2018 21:48
"Voices8" 8 Channel Soundtracker "DemoSongI" song - "This is the Amiga with 8 Voices" DemosongIHunter request.Music 40 13 April 2017 06:06
Keep Active control panel "Line Mode" and "Interlaced Line Mode" Zilog request.UAE Wishlist 4 03 August 2014 00:08
"Exception "Line 1111 Emulator" ($2c) Error at $1004" when exiting game demolition support.WinUAE 15 30 November 2012 17:43
Long "lost" A1200 reunited with his owner (!! lots of pictures !!) Zapotek Hardware pics 14 05 July 2011 15:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07951 seconds with 12 queries