English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 14 October 2014, 10:01   #1
Derek

A1200 "A1230 Turbo+ II (Jaws II)" expansion

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/gvp1230mk2

Hi all,

I'm new to the Classic Amiga scene after some 15 years of being away from my Amiga, in darkness. I have NO experience with expansions other than the 512kb RAM expansion in my A500 and a newly modded Gotek floppy replacement (for the same A500).

I never had an Amiga 1200 but i'm looking at building one up from parts now.

Are there any pitfalls with the kit above? I'd love to have a faster Amiga if the price is right.
Old 14 October 2014, 11:19   #2
fryguy

I wouldn't recommend that accelerator (unless you buy it with large simms included). It uses special GVP simms which is not that common.

I do believe though that i read somewhere how you could modify standard simms to be usable on it.

EDIT: yep found it here http://aminet.net/docs/hard/gvpsim64.lzh
Old 14 October 2014, 12:56   #3
Derek

Thanks Fryguy... that's way beyond my current skills i suspect. Ouch I'm utterly impressed that people are still hacking away at this old hardware though. Bloody marvellous!

Do you have a recommendation for an accelerator for an A1200? I'm a noob, having never had more than an A500 1mb RAM. So i expect myself to be a modest user of the 1200s potential. I would like to use a WiFi PCMCIA card (network moreso than internet) and a 4gb CF card as everyone seems to be doing.

Sorry, i don't mean to hijack one question into multiple: I read somewhere that some accelerators/expansion cards stop the PCMCIA from working.
Old 14 October 2014, 13:57   #4
ajk

I had that or a similar GVP accelerator back in the day, worked great. But, as mentioned, get one that already includes the RAM. Otherwise you have at least the Blizzard, Apollo and the (newly designed) ACA line of accelerators to consider.