English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 January 2014, 14:15   #1
chocolate_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 212
CDTV to Raspberry Pi for Internet?

I recently saw a guide on hooking up an Amiga to the net via a Raspberry Pi, only thing is the software all needs 3.0 or above.

I have the null modem cable, is there anyway to do this on a 1mb CDTV? Just for running terminal/bbs telnet services and file transfers?

http://jmp.no/blog/cheap-overkill-amiga-network-adapter
chocolate_boy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 January 2014, 14:31   #2
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocolate_boy View Post
I recently saw a guide on hooking up an Amiga to the net via a Raspberry Pi, only thing is the software all needs 3.0 or above.

I have the null modem cable, is there anyway to do this on a 1mb CDTV? Just for running terminal/bbs telnet services and file transfers?

http://jmp.no/blog/cheap-overkill-amiga-network-adapter
if lack of RAM is a concern you can always expand your memory in the CDTV, there are expansion boards available
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 14:49   #3
chocolate_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
if lack of RAM is a concern you can always expand your memory in the CDTV, there are expansion boards available
I think 1.3 compatibility may be more of an issue?
chocolate_boy is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 14:54   #4
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocolate_boy View Post
I think 1.3 compatibility may be more of an issue?


Amigakit.com and others do sell kickstarts so you can check with them, 1mb of ram will not go far when trying to surf though
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 15:02   #5
chocolate_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Amigakit.com and others do sell kickstarts so you can check with them, 1mb of ram will not go far when trying to surf though
Yeah wasn't looking to surf the web, just telnet and IRC. Rather keep it on 1.3 as I already have a beefed up 3.9 A1200, just wanted to see how much I could do on a low-end system.
chocolate_boy is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 15:18   #6
chocolate_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 212
Like in this video: [ Show youtube player ]

Would it be possible to use a Raspberry Pi with null modem instead of that Frizzbox?
chocolate_boy is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 20:02   #7
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocolate_boy View Post
Just for running terminal/bbs telnet services
Certainly, all you would need would be a disk (if you have a floppy drive for your CDTV) or CD with a terminal program (JRComm, etc..)
Then you just have a serial terminal to the Pi with a standard Linux shell.
From there, you can telnet to wherever you want...
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocolate_boy View Post
and file transfers?
There are rz and sz programs for Linux.
I used those back in the day to transfer programs with my Amiga and Unix servers.
Basically, you download the files to the Linux box from your shell using Telnet (or minicomm or ??).
Then you use the sz command to "send" the file using ZModem to your Amiga.
As long as your Amiga terminal program of choice supports Z-modem, should be good.
I believe the Linux package you would need is lrzsz. You might also want something like minicomm on Linux probably, as I think it might be more compatible with BBSes????
(Been a while..)

desiv
p.s. I did this on my A500 with 1M RAM quite a lot, so memory shouldn't be an issue.. And that was with 1.3.
desiv is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 20:03   #8
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
You need to upgrade the extended roms to 2.70 or 2.3 before you can use ks2.0 & above
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NetSurf works on the raspberry pi mcbone Amiga scene 2 08 July 2013 06:17
AROS now boots natively on Raspberry PI OlafSch Amiga scene 11 16 March 2013 14:52
AROS - AEROS / Broadway X in Raspberry pi Tiago support.Other 8 17 August 2012 16:40
For Sale Raspberry Pi lolafg MarketPlace 16 06 August 2012 16:13
Embedded Raspberry Pi? wXR Hardware mods 2 29 July 2012 18:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19534 seconds with 11 queries