English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

Old 27 September 2013, 23:49   #1
Yulquen74

Tinkering with a 68hc000 in an A500

I have done some experimenting using a 20MHz version of 68hc000 in an A500,on a breadboard connected to the 68k socket.

Im exploring ways to use a higher clock speed on the 68k, without breaking
system timing.

Im no expert in this field as I have not designed any 68k accelerators before,
so I dont know which scheme would work best.

I thought of placing some high-speed memory on the "inside" of a cpu board,
and running the cpu at full throttle when accessing local fast-mem, and switching over to the 7MHz clock when accessing chip-mem and custom chips. With some cpld logic the clock changing could be done after the assertion of AS# in a controlled way (freezing the current cpu clock, and wait for the next rising edge of the 7M clock before changing over the 7M to the cpu)

The CIA cycles would have to be converted to regular cycles with DTACK# instead of VPA I guess, and generate my own E-signal.

So far I have only implemented bus bidirectional bus drivers for address and data lines, and tested with regular 7M clock, and it still works, in spite of wiring to breadboard, but I had to improve decoupling and add some thick ground wires. Using even a 7M clock in the wrong phase causes malfunction and flashing power led. So does a 10MHz clock, but If I delay AS# and DTACK# for a cycle, it works. I can spend further time hooking up more stuff like a cpld and RAM, but I feel I lack some vital information before I continue.

If the accelerator was to isolate its control signals (AS#, LDS#, UDS#, DTACK#..) from the mainboard for non waitstate (own DTACK#) full speed fast mem cycles to local RAM (to not confuse Gary), the bus arbitration to devices like the A590 would perhaps not work (?). (a pending bus master is waiting for a AS# low to high transition after receiving BG?)