English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Amiga Forever (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=109)
-   -   Setting up WinUAE to use Amiga Forever ROMs? (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=54098)

GCI 27 July 2010 20:09

Setting up WinUAE to use Amiga Forever ROMs?

Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to Amiga, and although I was born just as the company was ending, I'd like to see what it was like back then :)

Anyhow, I've purchased Amiga Forever (the 2009 Plus edition) and I've downloaded/installed WinUAE 2.2.0. I've copied all of the included AF roms to a ROMs folder in WinUAE, and I've set the correct path to that folder. However, WinUAE fails to detect any of the roms, and it says that all emulation modes are unavailable. If someone can help me with getting WinUAE to detect the roms, that would be great. (And also tell me which one is the latest.)

Thanks!

~GCI

TCD 27 July 2010 20:12

Copy the file rom.key over as well ;)
Oh and welcome to EAB! Enjoy your stay :great

GCI 27 July 2010 20:17

Oh, I needed that too? How simple! :D

And thank you for the welcome! I'm glad to be here :)

GCI 27 July 2010 20:55

Oh, I've got another small question. I've created a hard disk image, but the HDTools cannot detect it, (or at least it thinks the status is unknown.) Does anyone know what to do here?

P.S. I'm trying to install Workbench 3.1. (That is the latest, right?)

TCD 27 July 2010 21:00

If you mean that you have a HDF file now, you don't need HDTools to install WB. 3.1 is the latest on disks. There are 3.5 and 3.9 on CD. Since we aren't allowed to link to them here, you are on your own if you want to find them. Of course you can still buy 3.9 ;)

GCI 27 July 2010 21:15

No problem, I'm sure I can find them ;)

I did make a blank HDF image, (I think,) and I guess I'd just like the experience of installing it.

thomas 27 July 2010 22:27