English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 July 2010, 20:09   #1
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
Setting up WinUAE to use Amiga Forever ROMs?

Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to Amiga, and although I was born just as the company was ending, I'd like to see what it was like back then

Anyhow, I've purchased Amiga Forever (the 2009 Plus edition) and I've downloaded/installed WinUAE 2.2.0. I've copied all of the included AF roms to a ROMs folder in WinUAE, and I've set the correct path to that folder. However, WinUAE fails to detect any of the roms, and it says that all emulation modes are unavailable. If someone can help me with getting WinUAE to detect the roms, that would be great. (And also tell me which one is the latest.)

Thanks!

~GCI
 
Old 27 July 2010, 20:12   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Copy the file rom.key over as well
Oh and welcome to EAB! Enjoy your stay
TCD is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 20:17   #3
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
Oh, I needed that too? How simple!

And thank you for the welcome! I'm glad to be here
 
Old 27 July 2010, 20:55   #4
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
Oh, I've got another small question. I've created a hard disk image, but the HDTools cannot detect it, (or at least it thinks the status is unknown.) Does anyone know what to do here?

P.S. I'm trying to install Workbench 3.1. (That is the latest, right?)
 
Old 27 July 2010, 21:00   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
If you mean that you have a HDF file now, you don't need HDTools to install WB. 3.1 is the latest on disks. There are 3.5 and 3.9 on CD. Since we aren't allowed to link to them here, you are on your own if you want to find them. Of course you can still buy 3.9
TCD is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 21:15   #6
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
No problem, I'm sure I can find them

I did make a blank HDF image, (I think,) and I guess I'd just like the experience of installing it.
 
Old 27 July 2010, 22:27   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,999
If you want to make a partitioned HDF, you need to enable RDB mode in WinUAE's Add Hardfile dialogue. And before you run HDToolbox you need to change it's icon information to read SCS_DEVICE_NAME=uaehf.device instead of scsi.device.
thomas is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 05:07   #8
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
If you want to make a partitioned HDF, you need to enable RDB mode in WinUAE's Add Hardfile dialogue. And before you run HDToolbox you need to change it's icon information to read SCS_DEVICE_NAME=uaehf.device instead of scsi.device.
Do you mean SCSI_DEVICE_NAME?

I'm just about to test it. (I put both of the floppies in write-protected mode so I wouldn't delete that setting like I did last time, and D'oh!, I gotta save it again :P)
 
Old 28 July 2010, 05:13   #9
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, I did that, and the drive shows up in the list. Despite that, I cannot do anything, except for click Change Drive Type, at which point, nothing I do in there will enable the Ok button. Any ideas? (I'm thinking on making a tutorial video for this once I'm done, they seem far and few.)
 
Old 28 July 2010, 06:37   #10
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm, scratch that, it seems setting the drive to SCSI0, and leaving the parameter as default in Amiga seemed to work fine. Weird.
 
Old 28 July 2010, 10:08   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,999
Driver needs to match the hardware:

Controller = UAE -> driver = uaehf.device
Controller = IDE or SCSI -> driver = scsi.device

IDE and SCSI controllers only work if you set chipset to a motherboard which has such a controller and if you select a KS ROM which contains the driver.

UAE controller works with every Amiga model and ROM because the driver is included in WinUAE.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 July 2010, 01:18   #12
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
That's interesting though, because going full UAE did not seem to work. Oh well.
 
Old 29 July 2010, 08:00   #13
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,999
You did not enable RDB mode.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 July 2010, 16:14   #14
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,079
Why not ask Cloanto this? They are the bastards who encrypted the ROMs to make life difficult, and to whom you have paid money for a commercial product. Are you saying they won't provide technical support (nor any instructions, by the sounds of it) for their product?
Minuous is offline  
Old 29 July 2010, 16:40   #15
GCI
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Why not ask Cloanto this? They are the bastards who encrypted the ROMs to make life difficult, and to whom you have paid money for a commercial product. Are you saying they won't provide technical support (nor any instructions, by the sounds of it) for their product?
Instructions do seem far and few, despite having an enormous FAQ section (in 6 pt font, I might add, which makes it annoying to read.)
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Forever setting up a SD card Harddisk catkins support.Amiga Forever 0 14 December 2012 00:42
Not a known rom file error with Amiga Forever-roms [Solved] Greenie support.FS-UAE 9 26 July 2012 18:10
Amiga Forever 2011 - where are the WinUAE configs? Foebane support.WinUAE 0 12 September 2011 22:36
whdload amiga forever roms pan1k support.Apps 3 04 August 2006 02:31
Setting up a Amiga Joysitick via PPJoy (for WinUAE) Stefarno support.WinUAE 1 30 November 2005 09:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07733 seconds with 12 queries