![]() |
![]() |
#1 |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,313
|
AmiWolf - new 68k Wolfenstein 3D port
Hiya,
As some of you guys know there are a couple of existing Amiga Wolfenstein 3D ports but I thought it was about time we had one with SFX and music. This port started off as a quick test of the new AGA SDL but then I decided to turn it into a proper 030 targeted (non-SDL) release. It looks like it's playable on an 030 so mission accomplished ![]() Features:
It's a complete hack really, the best Wolfenstein port is called Wolf4SDL but that port doesn't support Big Endian so I had to base this port on about 3 different ports and it also includes code from DOOM, Quake and even Quake 2 ![]() This port only supports the full retail version of Wolfenstein, it proved too complicated to include support for the shareware release. [ Show youtube player ] http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/AmiWolf_ECS http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/AmiWolf_AGA http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/AmiWolf_RTG And... http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/AmiSpear_ECS http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/AmiSpear_AGA http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/AmiSpear_RTG Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 March 2019 at 14:02. |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 265
|
Wow that is really cool. Looking forward to next week when it said you'd upload it to Aminet
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Junior Member
![]() Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 41
Posts: 3,071
|
Epic !!
|
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,313
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 60
|
Just installed on real Amiga (1200 + 68060), converted sfx (converted sfxfiles have to be 8bit), working great, thankyou NovaCoder !!
|
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
Longplayer
![]() |
I've got it all converted and running, and running well it does to
![]() Might be worth adding midi3mus http://www..com/download/5l...oz/midi3mus.7z for those on a 64bit os as mid2mus refused to work in this environment. |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Walk Off? Boolander!
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 629
|
Top work Nova!
Will test this final full version out tomorrow! Thanks for the port! |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 265
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 46
Posts: 794
|
Thanks very much for your work on this. Does the addition of music compromise the 3d engine speed at all? Sorry if that's a naive question to ask.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#10 | |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,313
|
Quote:
![]() Yes the music will slow down the graphics a little, you can turn it off in the menu. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#11 |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 226
|
Which files are exactly needed to run this? Because I tried my old Wolfenstein installation containing these files (which didn't work):
Code:
AUDIOHED.WL1 AUDIOT.WL1 config.wl1 GAMEMAPS.WL1 MAPHEAD.WL1 VGADICT.WL1 VGAGRAPH.WL1 VGAHEAD.WL1 VSWAP.WL1 ![]() Edit: Scratch that - I didn't perform the midi conversion yet... Last edited by pintcat; 15 September 2013 at 07:54. Reason: I just RTFM |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,313
|
Hiya,
Those look like the shareware files, you need the retail game files for AmiWolf. You don't need the music data to play, it should still run without sound and music data. Check both of the log files in the AmiWolf folder if you have any issues, the log file writes a lot of information about missing SFX/music data. ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 34
|
Just tried this out in WinUAE and it works great. Can I be a bit cheeky and ask if somebody could stick the converted audio files in the zone?
|
![]() |
![]() |
#14 |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 60
|
Just a little question to NovaCoder: is there anyway to adjust the sound volume, cause my setup both sfx and music volume is very weak ? Been playing couple of episodes allready , working great ! Thanks !
Last edited by groundplayer; 15 September 2013 at 20:17. |
![]() |
![]() |
#15 | |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 226
|
Quote:
![]() Question: Is there a way to use cursor keys for movement? I'm unable to define these keys in the menu since they are used for menu control. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#16 |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,313
|
Hiya,
Glad it's working well for you ![]() I thought you could define the cursor keys for movement, it shouldn't make any difference that they are also used to control the menu. You should be able to hit 'enter' on the key you want to define which should turn it grey with a blinking question mark, you then just select the key you want to use. I can't do anything about the low sound volume, the easy thing to do is to just turn up your speakers ![]() I actually found a bug myself last night, it seems on my 1260 some of the items are not drawn (you can toggle all the items on a map by going to the map screen and then holding down the space bar and the left cursor key). Code:
if (IN_KeyDown(sc_UpArrow)) { Auto_Map.walls ^= 1; // C + Up = toggle walls while (IN_KeyDown(sc_UpArrow)) IN_ProcessEvents(); } if (IN_KeyDown(sc_DownArrow)) { Auto_Map.secrets ^= 1; // C + Down = toggle secrets while (IN_KeyDown(sc_DownArrow)) IN_ProcessEvents(); } if (IN_KeyDown(sc_LeftArrow)) { Auto_Map.items ^= 1; // C + Left = toggle items while (IN_KeyDown(sc_LeftArrow)) IN_ProcessEvents(); } if (IN_KeyDown(sc_RightArrow)) { Auto_Map.enemies ^= 1; // C + Right = toggle enemies while (IN_KeyDown(sc_RightArrow)) IN_ProcessEvents(); } I'll have to do some investigation and see if I can fix it, even anyone has this bug with a 1230 then let me know ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#17 |
Ruler of the Universe
![]() Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,174
![]() |
Hiya. Great work. What screen mode are you using with the Indi?
|
![]() |
![]() |
#18 |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,313
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#19 |
Registered User
![]() Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 389
|
Congrats on another great port, really enjoying playing this.
|
![]() |
![]() |
#20 |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,313
|
Thanx
![]() Ok I just did a quick and dirty port to OCS/ECS 64 color EHB mode. The first BETA (v1.01) is in the Zone ![]() You'll need a fast 030 card to play this and it will still probably be very slow. [ Show youtube player ] Obviously it won't run anything like this fast on an 030 OCS/ECS machine but it's the only one I've got for testing ![]() Looks pretty good for only 64 colors though I think. Each frame this version has to convert each pixel from 256 colors to 64 colors and then convert it from chunky to planar.....ouch! Last edited by NovaCoder; 16 September 2013 at 15:50. |
![]() |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
Thread Tools | |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port | NovaCoder | Amiga scene | 20 | 07 June 2018 02:17 |
AmiWolf - new AGA Wolfenstein 3D Port | NovaCoder | project.Amiga Game Factory | 100 | 16 September 2013 01:44 |
Quake 68k port for MAC | Sandro | request.Old Rare Games | 11 | 02 September 2013 02:08 |
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port | NovaCoder | project.Amiga Game Factory | 7 | 04 September 2010 12:58 |
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? | Ironclaw | request.Other | 7 | 22 September 2006 20:56 |
|
|