English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 01 August 2010, 01:20   #1
Djay
95th User

Would this save disk space?

if i were to design a program that reads in the colours of an iff and then store it as a data file, another program decodes the data file and displays the image again

i could draw the image to a back buffer, grab sprites (because i know the grid co-ords etc) and then use them

the second program and the data file is all that is stored on the disk

i hope this makes sense to someone
Old 01 August 2010, 01:34   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

Would this save disk space?

I'm not sure that it would.

I'm no coder, but I am in the process of recovering Glen Cumming's Amiga coding history for preservation from floppy disks (Glen is one of the programmers of the Alien Bash games), and there is a program on those disks which they wrote called an iff converter, which does much the same thing as you describe, but the data files it produces (Define Constant Word statements) are larger than the .iff files!

Or did you have something else in mind for the data format?

Edit: I've just realized that this iff converter was probably designed to produce source code to fully define the original .iff file and allow it to be recreated. That's probably a lot more data than you would require.

Last edited by prowler; 01 August 2010 at 01:59.
Old 01 August 2010, 02:36   #3
Djay
95th User

my thinking is to draw an iff in dpaint, mainly sprites
then write a program which will read in the colours of the pixels in a grid
allow one colour for a mask
write the pixel colours to a text string (define an array), along with size
write all the data for each sprite to one text file

then write another program, which reads in the text strings from the text file
draw the data to a back buffer
grab the sprites, using the grid co-ords
use the sprites

---