English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 February 2021, 17:34   #1
utukku
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 85
using Internet to set system Time

Could someone tell me what's the best/easiest way to automatically set the system time using the internet?



Cheers


Utukku
utukku is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 18:11   #2
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,679
Maybe http://aminet.net/comm/misc/netclock.lha Some other programs do exist, too.
zipper is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 19:24   #3
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 985
I use: http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/AmiTimeKeeper

Updated just the other day too
indigolemon is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 19:27   #4
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 273
NTPSsync and Facts. Facts offers advanced settings and easy to setup. Ntpsync is simpler but does the job well. Ask me if you decide to go down that road since I use both
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 10 February 2021, 19:50   #5
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,080
I use: http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/sntp

In my s:network-startup (RoadShow) I have:
Code:
sntp pool.ntp.org
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 11 February 2021, 00:15   #6
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 3,465
You can also point directly to the most precise ntp over the world
https://www.metas.ch/metas/en/home/f...emination.html
malko is offline  
Old 11 February 2021, 02:31   #7
gdonner
Ancient Amiga User

gdonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Elkhart / United States
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
I use: http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/AmiTimeKeeper

Updated just the other day too
I second that. It works nicely with ScreenTime, too:

http://aminet.net/util/time/ScreenTime.lha
gdonner is offline  
Old 11 February 2021, 13:19   #8
utukku
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 85
Thanks for all the options everyone :-) Going to go with the AmiTimeKeeper, mainly as it has been updated very recently.
utukku is offline  
Old 18 April 2021, 16:10   #9
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
I use: http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/AmiTimeKeeper

Updated just the other day too
Thread bump, but discovered that AmiTimeKeeper won't let Roadshow's NetShutDown command do it's thing! Just a heads up in case anyone is wondering why their WHDLoad games are suddenly not working anymore (as I did).

I've gone back to FACTS for now: http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/facts
indigolemon is offline  
Old 19 April 2021, 00:43   #10
npagonis73
Registered User

npagonis73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Corfu / Greece
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Thread bump, but discovered that AmiTimeKeeper won't let Roadshow's NetShutDown command do it's thing! Just a heads up in case anyone is wondering why their WHDLoad games are suddenly not working anymore (as I did).



I've gone back to FACTS for now: http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/facts
Yeap. I confirm the above. Spoke to the writer about it a while ago, and he told me he would fix it in his next update. Also if you go offline for some reason, then when AmiTimeKeeper tries to check the time online then the system hangs and freezes and it needs a restart.
npagonis73 is offline  
Old 20 April 2021, 03:01   #11
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 101
AmiTimeKeeper : My time is off by an hour

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdonner View Post
I second that. It works nicely with ScreenTime, too:

http://aminet.net/util/time/ScreenTime.lha

AmiTimeKeeper : I started using this. But my clock is always off by an hr.

Any suggestions as to why ?
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 20 April 2021, 03:49   #12
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
AmiTimeKeeper : I started using this. But my clock is always off by an hr.

Any suggestions as to why ?
Nevermind. I fixed this. I ran the installer. It sets the proper time zone.


Though that app Greg recommended, ScreenTime, hangs my system. I will examine this further when time permits.
ProfPlum is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-System ( not X-System 2) aka Crossed System TDO request.Old Rare Games 9 02 July 2019 15:26
Set System Time xArtx Coders. C/C++ 2 04 March 2016 10:24
System is not validated! FFS (and I dont mean fast file system!) Macca support.Hardware 11 11 June 2007 13:04
internet through winuae _ThEcRoW support.WinUAE 2 25 April 2005 15:07
internet housey support.WinUAE 3 07 February 2003 12:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11981 seconds with 15 queries