English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 10 February 2021, 17:07   #1
BigMacDaddy

CD32 NVRAM redirect

Hi - I've had my CD32 since it was originally bought all the way back in 1994, and after recently digging it out of storage have acquired a TF330 card which is all up and running nicely. I'm now trying to redirect the NVRAM saves by creating an nv_location file for nonvolatile.library to refer to but I'm not sure I've quite got this right, bear in mind here that I'm a total novice when it comes to AmigaOS and this is literally my first foray into doing anything with it!

So far:

I've managed to create a directory at the root of SYSTEM named gamesaves
I've created a file named "nv_location" (or should it be nv_location.info ???) at System/prefs/env-archive/sys/ which contains the text string ":gamesaves"
The CF card I'm using in the TF330 was pre-imaged by the previous user, however I've checked in the LIBS directory and nonvolatile.library is present and correct.

If anyone would be able to give me a complete idiot's guide (down to the exact commands/syntax to run from the shell if necessary, I am that much of a beginner here!) to what I'm trying to do here I'd really appreciate it

Many thanks

Alex
Old 10 February 2021, 17:52   #2
jotd
This cat is no more

nv_location is the name. The procedure is correct and works ... on a non-CD32 machine.

problem is: on a CD32 ROM nonvolatile.library comes first (ROM resident). Overriding it with a library in LIBS: doesn't work (CD32 users had a similar problem with BASS when trying to bypass the real freeanim.library, see https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p...6&postcount=36).

Using whdload for the game(s) you want to play allows to do whatever you want + more. You have fast memory so that is the best option.
Old 10 February 2021, 18:19   #3
BigMacDaddy