English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2014, 23:25   #1
quench
 
Posts: n/a
AMOS help

I have a game called F1 Challenge by Steven Rennocks. It's a Formula One management game, where each race is shown as a leaderboard, and each lap the cars race across the screen. I was wondering how to update the car colours to modern day. If I load up AMOS I can open up the Bob bank which contains the cars, I can update the colours, but when I save the changes it makes no difference in the game. Can anyone tell me if it's actually possible to do? Thanks.
 
Old 17 February 2014, 23:29   #2
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,924
I haven't played the game, but the colours could be set up in the game code.

Also, is the bob bank a separate file or is it included in the actual executable?
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 00:03   #3
quench
 
Posts: n/a
It's a separate file. The game had an editor disk which I can't find anywhere. Was trying to edit it manually but I can't figure it out.

This is the game:
http://hol.abime.net/3757

ftp://426470:600998@www.planetemu.ne...cr%20HF%5D.zip

Last edited by TCD; 18 February 2014 at 20:15. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
 
Old 18 February 2014, 19:57   #4
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 304
I've just tried editing the first .abk file, which worked; screen shot below.
I put a red cross over the Brazil track.

It seems more likely that you haven't quite figured out the AMOS editor yet.
You have to 'push' the edited image into the file before saving it. In the editor you can insert or replace so be careful.

Have a look at the AMOS guide.

http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk/Hoste...AMOSProManual/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	f1masters.png
Views:	167
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	39083  
leathered is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 21:18   #5
quench
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, I did manage to edit the track images.
It's the cars I was trying to edit. Tried the same method as I did with the tracks but it didn't work.
 
Old 18 February 2014, 22:23   #6
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 304
I see; you are right! It may be that the bank has been combined with others - certainly looks like the cars file is not used at all. The file Banks.abk may be a clue. Unfortunately it is not read in the editor as an AMOS bob bank, which may suggest that it has some other .abk types in there: fonts etc.
You could try loading it into AMOS and see if you can separate the files, edit and then save them as Banks.abk again. My knowledge of AMOS is fairly fuzzy right now, but I seem to remember there being some functions to that end in the manual, Why isn't this stuff ever easy?
leathered is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 22:57   #7
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 304
The main program file is 266084 bytes.
That seems overly large for just the program file alone, I think Lonewolf is probably right, the .abk files were saved with the code. I tried messing with the bank.abk file - the game stopped working at the copy protection screen.
I was really hoping there was a simple solution to your problem! Sorry mate, hope someone can still help.

There is perhaps the hope that the guys left the source on the disk (as they appear to have done with everything else), but I saw no .AMOS file. Maybe you can track down that editor disk somewhere?
leathered is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 23:10   #8
quench
 
Posts: n/a
Oh well, thanks for trying.

Back to square 1
 
Old 22 February 2014, 19:15   #9
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by leathered View Post
The main program file is 266084 bytes.
That seems overly large for just the program file alone, I think Lonewolf is probably right, the .abk files were saved with the code. I tried messing with the bank.abk file - the game stopped working at the copy protection screen.
I was really hoping there was a simple solution to your problem! Sorry mate, hope someone can still help.
Yeah, considering what the game actually does 266084 is rather large.
When you messed with the banks.abk file did you actually save it back as it was (e.g as a banks file with all the banks included - 3 pics, plus car sprites), or as just the sprites?

If you did save it back properly, then it sounds like that either some sort of checksum routine is performed on the bank (unlikely) or that there is some sort of memory issue. Perhaps they only reserved enough space for the original file, and if that is exceeded it causes the game to crash??
Lonewolf10 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use AMOS 3D with AMOS PRO? viddi Coders. AMOS 6 25 October 2012 23:11
f/s Amiga Amos Programming books / Disks / Easy Amos & other Books *mega collection!* fitzsteve MarketPlace 4 23 May 2012 04:35
Amos LaundroMat request.Apps 7 06 April 2002 04:26
Where's the amos.library on the 3-disk AMOS set? andreas support.Apps 0 15 November 2001 16:04
Amos Djay request.Apps 2 07 October 2001 01:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13550 seconds with 16 queries