English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2008, 04:59   #1
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
[SWAP] External Flicker Fixer for Zorro II Graphics Card

I have a external flicker fixer/scan doubler (Same as pictured) that I am not using, working perfectly and would suit an Amiga 500/600/1200/CDTV/2000 etc



I am looking for a Zorro Graphics card (low end - I know Picasso IV are out) something like a Picasso II for my Amiga 3000.

Anyway interested in a trade? I am in Australia.
jimbo100 is offline  
Old 12 July 2008, 18:11   #2
Effy
http://www.amigaclub.be/
Effy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Age: 53
Posts: 677
Send a message via MSN to Effy
Happy

Trade sounds like fun, but better sell you scandoubler for a reasonable amount of money and buy a cheaper gfx card with that. You´ll end up with some nice cash in your hands together with a gfx card too
I already have got two external and three internal scandoublers ...

Last edited by Effy; 12 July 2008 at 18:17.
Effy is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 03:35   #3
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
I was thinking a swap would be easier, been offered a Retina Z2 card or a Picasso II/GVP Spectrum card.

What are these things (SD/FF) worth?
jimbo100 is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 03:46   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 9,768
@Jimbo100

The Retina Z2 is perhaps better than the Picasso II as it can have more memory (4MB) and its dedicated,

the Picasso II uses the 8MB Zorro space (with up to 2MB), although this does speedup the manipulation of graphics memory, the cost is reduced system memory.


an external SD/FF ... flickers (forgive the pun) between £80 - £120 depending on market and availability. But I have been told I am too cheap LOL, at the end of the day its only worth what YOU are willing to sell it for AND what the other person is willing to BUY it for.

A trade with a Retina Z2 or Picasso II seems about fair to me thought, although, you could follow Effys example and sell the item, and then buy a CyberVision64 3D Mk2
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 04:17   #5
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
The problem with Retina Z2 is that it is not supported by Cybergraphx or Picasso96, so its not very useful IMHO. (though it has some very interesting features ...)

Also if you have a A3000, Zorro 3 graphic cards are actually easier/cheaper to get. A picasso II will usually sell more than a CV64 because it can be used in a wider range of computers.
coze is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 06:50   #6
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
The problem with Retina Z2 is that it is not supported by Cybergraphx or Picasso96, so its not very useful IMHO. (though it has some very interesting features ...)

Also if you have a A3000, Zorro 3 graphic cards are actually easier/cheaper to get. A picasso II will usually sell more than a CV64 because it can be used in a wider range of computers.
Will a CV64 work ok in a Amiga 3000 with a Buster Rev v7?

I think I would prefer a CV64 although I am finding they aren't easy to come by!
jimbo100 is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 09:49   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
I would have thought, given the stoopid prices on Ebay, that if you listed your scandoubler, for sale world wide, with the postage to many places listed. Added lots of high-res photographs, links to technical pages, perhaps show the box and manual (just fake them if you don't have them / it didn't come with them) Perhaps even list on US Ebay rather than UK? You should be able to get enough for a CV64 (maybe even a picasso IV).

Remember you already have a scan doubler in the A3000 (AMBER) so it would be GREAT to get a CV64 which has integrated Automon.

Remember you want a CV64 and NOT a CV64/3D (two totally different cards)

If it doesnt work with a Buster 7, rather than getting a different card, you should consider upgrading your buster to a rev11 if it is socketed. They are relatively cheap and they have some A3000 specific fixes inside.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 11:23   #8
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I vaguely remember d haynie mentioning there's no Zorro 3 implementation in buster rev 7 at all. So you need a rev 9 or 11. You should be able to score a CV64 for sub 100 EUR. Watch ebay.de
coze is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 12:49   #9
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
I vaguely remember d haynie mentioning there's no Zorro 3 implementation in buster rev 7 at all. So you need a rev 9 or 11. You should be able to score a CV64 for sub 100 EUR. Watch ebay.de

hmm, so a Zorro III card is out then, dont imagine I'd find a Buster V9 or V11 to easy to find!
jimbo100 is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 13:10   #10
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 666
I wouldn't write off the Z3 cards so quickly AmigaKit and Vesalia both have Super Buster's in stock.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 13:41   #11
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
I wouldn't write off the Z3 cards so quickly AmigaKit and Vesalia both have Super Buster's in stock.
Hmm, food for thought....about $55AU to get a chip....now for the video card? Anyone got a CV64 that no longer want?
jimbo100 is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 14:04   #12
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 43
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
keeping a Z2 A3000 is waste of deskspace. If I were you, I'ld get a buster before graphics board. Rev 11 may be expensive, but you should find a rev 9 for next to nothing cause most a4000 users have one sitting in their hoard after upgrading to rev 11. While rev 9 buster supposedly have some problems with some boards (some scsi boards which perform z3 bus mastering I guess) I think they're perfectly usable if you avoid said boards (A4091 and fastlane comes to mind).
coze is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 17:29   #13
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
keeping a Z2 A3000 is waste of deskspace. If I were you, I'ld get a buster before graphics board. Rev 11 may be expensive, but you should find a rev 9 for next to nothing cause most a4000 users have one sitting in their hoard after upgrading to rev 11. While rev 9 buster supposedly have some problems with some boards (some scsi boards which perform z3 bus mastering I guess) I think they're perfectly usable if you avoid said boards (A4091 and fastlane comes to mind).
Well at the moment the A3000 has no Zorro III cards so pointless throwing good money away on a chip I might never need. If I can get a ZIII graphics card I'll look for an upgraded buster chip.

It's not like they made a whole heap of Zorro III cards, I can only think of three or four and most of those I could never find nor use!
jimbo100 is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 17:43   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
Buster 11 also fixes bug in Zorro II DMA
alexh is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 17:50   #15
Effy
http://www.amigaclub.be/
Effy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Age: 53
Posts: 677
Send a message via MSN to Effy
Happy

Is a simple Retina Zorro3 then so hard to use on an A3000 ? Don´t think they are so hard to get ...
http://bboah.amiga-resistance.info/c...cgi?HARDID=461

EDIT : and what about a Mediator busboard or a 2nd hand Prometheus busboard ???
Effy is offline  
Old 13 July 2008, 22:32   #16
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 43
Posts: 3,293
Happy

I have a pair of Commodore A520 ultra high resolution pimpin stick out cartridge style video adapters.

Best picture quality over RF connection and even composite
Paul_s is offline  
Old 14 July 2008, 00:24   #17
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
I have a pair of Commodore A520 ultra high resolution pimpin stick out cartridge style video adapters.

Best picture quality over RF connection and even composite
and do what exactly with these????
jimbo100 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB/swap: 15KHz PAL flicker fixer without scandoubler Photon MarketPlace 5 02 November 2009 21:21
Wanted: Indivision external scandoubler/flicker fixer shanegl MarketPlace 15 10 February 2009 17:12
Wanted: External Flicker Fixer / Scan Doubler systmcrsh MarketPlace 1 19 October 2008 16:01
WTB Filcker fixer or Zorro II graphics card skote MarketPlace 7 21 May 2008 20:04
FA: Indivision / Toastscan External Scandoubler & Flicker Fixer alexh MarketPlace 11 29 March 2008 21:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09794 seconds with 15 queries