English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > Amiga websites reviews

View Poll Results: Designing website Amiga compatible?
Skip the fancy stuff (CSS and Jscript) and make a real "oldscool" table based site? 6 54.55%
Use the 21 century technology and let it be ugly bearly usable on the classic Amigas? 4 36.36%
I do not care. 1 9.09%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2011, 01:56   #1
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 149
Designing website Amiga compatible?

How much effort is it worth to be compatible with classic Amiga web browsers like AWeb and iBrowse?

I have an ide for a site mainly targeted coding on classic Amigas but before I start with the design I need to decide how compatible I want to be with classic Amigas?

Do you, when you write Amiga code, use AWeb or iBrowse or do you (like myself) use Linux (or Win) for browsing while coding?

Thanks

Last edited by Geijer; 10 November 2011 at 02:09. Reason: Spelling
Geijer is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 03:19   #2
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 1,160
I'm an Amiga programmer who uses the Amiga 1200 as her main computer every day for browsing the web. I would appreciate it a lot if your site worked in IBrowse. I code in Cygnus Ed and compile in the Shell. I also don't think it's very hard to code sites without needing to use CSS, since we were doing it just fine for years!

I guess you could put it this way, if it doesn't work in IBrowse I probably wouldn't use the site often or at all.
Cammy is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 08:40   #3
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Geijer: personally I use Amiga for messing around coding old skool demo stuff and a modern PC with a modern browser for browsing the internet.

Use the appropriate tool for the job at hand I reckon.
pmc is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 11:53   #4
P-J
Registered User
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 41
Posts: 1,149
If I was to do it, I'd certainly write it onto a server hosted locally in Windows/Linux/OSX and just browse to it from the Amiga in UAE.

Trial and error I'd say, just keep your HTML simple and most things should work. As for then making it work in the modern browsers AS WELL, that's probably a bit trickier. Especially when you think of the vastly different resolutions you'd be dealing with (320 x 256 -> 1920 x 1080!).
P-J is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 11:58   #5
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,941
AmigaKit.com automatically detects the browser and changes its code to suit IBrowse or Firefox et al.

If the customer is browsing with IBrowse, DHTML modules is replaced with Amiga-friendly HTML 3.2 modules.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 12:57   #6
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 149
Thanks for your interesting comments:

@cammy which version of IBrowse are you using, i own 1.0 something and can not find any upgrade for it, the upgrade on Aminet is for a more recent version than mine?

@P-J the problem is not how to write compatible html, the problem for me is that I am not using a Amiga web browser. It is easier to make a more modern looking site with the help of CSS. It is hard for me to motivate not to use a "div/CSS" driven design.

@amigakit.com That's the professional way to do it, but your existence depend on that your site is accessible for all your potential customers. I am a hobbyist with limited time and energy. But perhaps that the best way if you look at the current progress of the poll...
Geijer is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 13:20   #7
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,941
The PHP code is very simple:

Code:
$spos= strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'IBrowse');
$spos2= strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'AWeb');

if ( $spos===false && $spos2===false ) { include( 'standard-browser.php'); }
else {
    include('amiga-browser.php');
  }
}
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 13:37   #8
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
The PHP code is very simple:

Code:
$spos= strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'IBrowse');
$spos2= strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'AWeb');

if ( $spos===false && $spos2===false ) { include( 'standard-browser.php'); }
else {
    include('amiga-browser.php');
  }
}
You are skipping the timeconsuming part in your "solution"
The actual site need to be implemented in both 'standard-browser.php' and 'amiga-browser.php'... And I rather focus on one of them and spend the rest of the time on real amiga coding

Last edited by Geijer; 10 November 2011 at 13:42. Reason: added the last part
Geijer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help wanted designing A1200 RAM board Mounty support.Hardware 17 17 April 2013 17:29
Tired of being no compatible (amiga OS 5.0) rampartsagain support.Other 30 30 June 2012 23:34
Is Samba on Amiga compatible with Windows7? ancalimon support.Apps 8 30 October 2011 00:26
New Amiga compatible LCD monitor rkauer support.Hardware 15 01 July 2010 11:41
Designing Friendly Amiga Hardware search site woody57 support.Hardware 7 24 May 2006 15:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11285 seconds with 14 queries