English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

Old 08 April 2019, 11:55   #1
meeku

C2P Performance issues

Hi,

I recently started playing with C2P routines. I've read all the available docs on the subject, so I thought I'd have a go at writing my own from scratch. I've also got copies of the Azure and Kalms c2p's just for comparison.
What I'm struggling with is the following.. I've run bustest on my A1200/030-50mhz and on WinUAE(set to emulate 060, no jit, cycle-exact). This was to get some baselines numbers for maximum bandwidth to establish what is write and copy speed.

For here I ran some tests with DMA on/off etc and established the following numbers:
A1200 -> 7mb/s chip bandwidth
UAE -> 6.5mb/s chip bandwidth

320x256x8 buffer = 81,920 bytes

A1200 should be able to write the bitplanes(8) in AGA at 89FPS (verified with a tight write only loop) = 11.23ms for a full lores frame write.
UAE should be able to write bitplanes(8) in AGA at 84FPS (verified) = 11.9ms for a full lores frame write.

Fastmem on the A1200 has a longword bandwidth of 33mb/s
Fastmem on UAE has a longword bandwidth of 113mb/s

So for a copy-loop taking into account the fastmem reads:
A1200 should take 2.4ms to read 81,920 bytes from fastmem (I'm not taking any sort of data-cache access)
UAE should take 0.7ms to read 81,920 bytes from fastmem ..
in theory these should be faster, especially on 060 with a bigger data-cache.. but ballpark we get

A1200 = 11.23 + 2.4ms = 13.63ms
UAE = 11.9 + 0.7 = 12.6ms

Once again I verified these with a tight copy loop (DMA off) and that seems to be right, and in line with the 13ms referred to from other C2P docs.

So now, no matter which C2p routine I use, my own, the pre-existing ones.. with DMA off just to measure.. they get nowhere close to copyspeed. All 3 (Kalms,Azure and mine) take about 26ms on UAE..