English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 03 April 2022, 22:43   #1
MacShrike

Lightbulb Keyboard hardware repair help request

Ls,

I'm cleaning and fixing my old a1200.
It has a Zorro II expansion with 2 RAM bars. An FPU and MPU.
I can vaguely remember being able to afford this beast back in the days.
I'm just getting into microelectronics because of this, I'm a software guy mostly. And unemployed now.

Because of a simultaneous double fault; it failed to reboot sometimes and I spend a lot of resets to pin-point the problem, yet there may be two (please let it be just two)
Some help would be greatly appreciated.

I will describe my "diagnosis" below:

At first the machine worked although not booting up correctly every time.
I tried different variations of hardware on start-up before discovering that the awkwardly bent capacitor under the IDE plug on the motherboard was loose, and eventually came off. The loose IDE cable was sometimes making it connect I guess, until it came off.
Since It came loose. It's starts fine but the caps light blinks three times and no keyboard (Lost the mouse and still waiting for the usb replacement and I WAS using the kb left amiga cursor interface.)

Shortly before this,
I noticed type to type "Y" at exit game that the key didn't respond. Checking in Shell a whole column wasn't responding starting at R (or E cant remember now sorry) also some numpad keys weren't typing..

So I checked and cleaned the membrane. It looked like it had 1 broken line somewhere a bit blackish.
After putting it back it was worse.

Now when I hit "d", or any key in that column, it spits out the entire row (asdfghjkl sometimes with an escape character. Pretty the same every time but its hard to see sometimes.

So I ordered a new membrane, placed it but still, and exactly, the same.

So Question:
Can this KB issue have to do with the loosened capacitor?
and/or