English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 09 September 2021, 14:12   #1
LootingLizard

Post Some Very Newbie Hardware Questions

Hello everyone!
I'm very new to the Amiga scene and was happy to find this forum, lots of great info here. I'm currently working on a retro game project, which currently targets older versions of windows (9x mostly) and also Linux.

I started thinking implementing an AmigaOS version would be interesting, as I haven't really worked with the Amiga before. On Windows I'm currently using a Pentium 3 with the following graphics cards: Nvidia RIVA TNT2, ATI Rage 128, 3dfx Voodoo 3, Matrox G450, 3DLabs Permedia 2. My project requires OpenGL 1.1.

My first question is, do any of these cards have decent driver support - if not, what should I look for? Also, what other hardware would you recommend that would be somewhat comparable to my windows setup (not familiar with PowerPC at all)?

Thanks in advance!
Old 09 September 2021, 14:26   #2
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

Welcome to the forum LootingLizard

Not sure I understand completely what you exactly want to do. Maybe you can develop a bit further ?

In the mean time, you should know that the Amiga was a different platform than the PC (understand : it uses different hardware). Thus, without finding on an internet market of by a friend a real computer, the GFX cards you listed won't be of any help.

In fact it is not completely true as you can try to setup a PC and try to run Amithlon on it, which will allow you to run all the Amiga OS-friendly applications on PC hardware. If this is the way you want to go, details and required hardware can be checked in this thread : https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=31613
Old 09 September 2021, 14:38   #3
LootingLizard

Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Welcome to the forum LootingLizard

Not sure I understand completely what you exactly want to do. Maybe you can develop a bit further ?