English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2008, 19:51   #1
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
yet another noob question

Ive looked around at the FAQ's, but I couldnt find anything that really explained it:

Imf ine with transfering things, but once theyre transfered what dyou do with the stuff? IE: that self extracting lha.run, where do you put the extracted files to use the app? Dyou have to use the shell to use it?

Sorry I have never used workbench before and I cant find my manual

cheers once again for your help

Last edited by AliasXZ; 23 January 2008 at 19:59.
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 21:40   #2
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 47
Posts: 370
I won't be able to help you with this, but I think you need to provide a little bit more information about your setup, hardware and what you're trying to do to get any help at all.
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 21:44   #3
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
sorry..

I just got this:

http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/lha

Which is a self extracting install for lha extractor.

What im wanting to know is, when I dump the contents of it, say in Work: - do I just use the Amiga shell to use them? Is it the same with all Amiga software for workbench?

Appologies I wrote the last post in a bit of a hurry
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 22:04   #4
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,225
Well most commands end up in the C: assign which in most cases mean a drawer called c on the boot partition (SYS:). It's a similar case to the PATH variable in Linux. AmigaOS also looks for commands in places stored in PATH (just issue 'path' in shell to see what they are -- you can also add your own). If I remember correctly the order is as follows when the OS is looking for commands:

resident list (commands stored in kickstart or added via the 'resident' command)
current directory
drawers stored in PATH

EDIT:
I should have written $PATH since it's a variable
ppill is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 22:07   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 47
Posts: 5,335
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
As you are discovering, doing it yourself is certainly the best way to learn, but if you want a quick solution, Install ClassicWb from Bloodwych. It is fully set up to extract Rar zip Lha.
DDNI is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 22:11   #6
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
ok cheers for classicwb

one more question though:

I just extracted pc2amiga into my c: and tried to run the installer but it said "cant open your tool installer" is there anything special i need to do when extracting?
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 22:12   #7
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 47
Posts: 5,335
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
check that installer is in the c directory. If it is, then right click its icon and check its info for the version number.

Post that here.
DDNI is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 22:17   #8
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,225
If it's not in c/ you can copy it of the Install disk (root drawer).
ppill is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 22:36   #9
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
There is no version number as I can see...

I stuck itin System3:C which is a hidden drawer, it does the same thing "Cant open your tool"
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 23:14   #10
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,225
Did you copy install or installer (it should be installer)?. Alternatively, you can get it from here
ppill is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 23:25   #11
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,225
You may want to browse through the docs/help part of Aminet for tips and guides to AmigaOS.

Would recommend this one especially. WinGuide is useful for viewing .guide files on Windows.
ppill is offline  
Old 23 January 2008, 23:28   #12
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
ok its on the amiga i extrated it to ramdisk, i take it I just put the "installer" in c ?

EDIT
the sample test installers work so is i guess its ok... *phew* cheers my friend
AliasXZ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob question, sorry. fitzsteve project.WHDLoad 3 23 August 2009 16:56
Noob Question but anyway. trackah123 Coders. General 17 30 October 2008 14:39
Noob alert! question about IK+ WARGOD21 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 03 August 2007 17:14
AmigaOS Noob question Rochabian New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 11 January 2007 14:15
Sorry bout this noob question jobro Coders. General 18 05 December 2005 04:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08893 seconds with 13 queries