English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 01 October 2006, 11:20   #1
BitmapBros

Amiga as a replacement to Windows

Hi guys, Im new here. Actually Im new to the Amiga world too.

But I have a laptop sitting there not getting much usage. Ive tried messing about with Linux and thats pretty cool.

But I remember going round my friends house playing Amiga games as a kid and I want to set that up now! I have played with WinUAE before which worked well, but just didn't feel right as it was an application sitting on top of MS Windows.

I guess the best thing to do is to buy a real amiga, but I dont have space for that.

I recently learnt you can boot your computer directly into AmigaOS (with Amiga Forever right?). This is what I want to achieve.

But a few questions, it seems the Amiga community although niche, is still going quite strong and I'm hoping you guys have developered solutions for...

1) Can you play MP3s?
2) Surf the net using broadband?

I know it might sound stupid, but as I said Im quite new to the scene looking for an alternative to Windows and was hoping the above solutions are available now.

Old 01 October 2006, 14:00   #2
keropi

one main disadvantage is the lack of a modern browser... all amiga ones are outdated...
Old 01 October 2006, 14:21   #3
kriz

Getting a pegasos might be an option ? Full new ppc hardware.

Playing mp3`s i can do on my A4000 also web browsing/chatting but its limited...
Old 01 October 2006, 15:56   #4
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad

Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz
Getting a pegasos might be an option ? Full new ppc hardware.

Playing mp3`s i can do on my A4000 also web browsing/chatting but its limited...
Still outdated browsers if you get a Peg and run MOS but browsing will be faster
Old 01 October 2006, 16:21   #5
kriz

Yeah, but lets hope the new Sputnik browser will be better!

http://khtml.ppa.pl/
Old 01 October 2006, 17:25   #6
Ultron
Something