English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

Old 23 March 2015, 11:53   #1
Hiddenevil

Word processor for OS 4.1

Hi guys

I'm a little new to OS 4 and I'm still getting my sea legs. In the fact on older Amiga's I would just use Wordsworth or Final Copy. I've tried using Cinimon writer, however it keeps asking for an Exec.library and crashing out.

Any help would be appreciated as I'd like to use the Au1 for writing some of my blog posts.

James
Old 24 March 2015, 16:37   #2
Hiddenevil

Hey guys

Little disturbing that after over 40 views, nobody has suggested a decent word processor for OS 4. I know Open office is any option, through Amicygnix. But running on an 800Mhz uA1 - C, its proven to be a bit slow. I'm guessing if i ask about a decent paint package I might face a similair lack responce?

Not a criticism mind, just a little disheartening as I'm new to OS4 and was expecting it to have at least some of the basics in place for productivity. Might go back to my A3000 at this rate :P
Old 24 March 2015, 17:44   #3
Locutus

I guess your best bet would probably be to check if Wordsworth or Final Copy just work on OS4.
Old 24 March 2015, 20:16   #4
Hiddenevil

I've not tried running classic apps throught OS4, but i thought I needed UAE if i wanted to run any 68k programs?
Old 24 March 2015, 22:34   #5
amigakit.com

Hi James

AmigaOS 4.1 has a built in process called Petunia which runs all 68k Classic Amiga apps seamlessly on workbench. Anything that needs ECS or AGA chipset such as a game, you can use RunInUAE to launch it from Workbench. More info on http://wiki.amigaos.net

Have you fully installed AmiCygnix package ? http://www.amigaos.net/node/51

This has a good word processor called AbiWord.

We are in the process of porting Libre Office but it is a large project.

Finally, don't forget AMIStore App Store available to download here: www.amistore.net
Old 24 March 2015, 23:42   #6
Hiddenevil

Hey