English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 March 2023, 18:59   #1721
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
In a thankfully unrelated note, I looked at the wall rendering selection path again.

What I thought was a bug, was in fact a feature. Non Gouraud shaded walls in TKG are not flat shaded. They are in fact capable of horizontal shading gradients only, which is clearly from the AB3D1 era. The term Gouraud is used for any wall where the floor and ceiling point brightnesses differ for the left or right edge.

This is why all four corners were not tested. I think the brightness values might be already absolute by the time this check happens, so maybe I don't need to test for negative values creating an artificial difference. TBC.
Karlos is offline  
Old 31 March 2023, 19:39   #1722
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
had a look at level L with DRAW_VECTOR_MAX_Z at 13000

[ Show youtube player ]

and at 16383

[ Show youtube player ]

the red flashing is just me poking #$f00 into $dff180 if the polygon draw is skipped, just so I knew it was being skipped.

13000 doesn't quite cut it on this level, 16383 is probably just about far enough.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 31 March 2023, 20:24   #1723
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
I'll increase the value. I have some changes for the wall rendering (refactored some common code) and will include it in that.
Karlos is offline  
Old 31 March 2023, 20:26   #1724
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
nice
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 31 March 2023, 20:36   #1725
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
nice
Tested, pushed and merged. Hopefully it's a little faster (may not be noticeable) because a previous fix was selecting the Gouraud path for walls that had any difference between their left and right sides, which the simple path actually deals with. This would've looked the same but is a more expensive way to get there. I have confirmed that significantly more wall is rendered in the simpler path now.

Last edited by Karlos; 31 March 2023 at 20:42.
Karlos is offline  
Old 31 March 2023, 20:47   #1726
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
awesome stuff! I will update my branch and check it out
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 31 March 2023, 21:42   #1727
Jacques
Registered User
Jacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Posts: 166
Binary, please :-)
Jacques is offline  
Old 31 March 2023, 22:25   #1728
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 583
You guys rock!
pipper is online now  
Old 01 April 2023, 00:12   #1729
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
Does anyone have a strong objection if I change the fullscreen mode button to F10 and maybe use F9 to cycle through the different pixel size modes?
Karlos is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 00:16   #1730
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
@Karlos
Quote:
Does anyone have a strong objection if I change the fullscreen mode button to F10 and maybe use F9 to cycle through the different pixel size modes?
no objections from me.

tested your latest commit.
In winuae, with no jit, cycle exact dma/memory, in the standard place (level A start in keyboard control)

draw time down to 19-20ms from 20-21ms.

I guess that qualifies as an improvement
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 00:50   #1731
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
@pipper

How's things man?
Had any joy with the openPCI stuff?
When are you re-joining us?
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 00:55   #1732
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
@Karlos


no objections from me.

tested your latest commit.
In winuae, with no jit, cycle exact dma/memory, in the standard place (level A start in keyboard control)

draw time down to 19-20ms from 20-21ms.

I guess that qualifies as an improvement
Probably just a margin of error thing or maybe the refactor bringing the early out from the wall drawing cases slightly up the callgraph. Before the refactor, you'd do some wall set up, then do the lighting test to determine which render method to use then call a subroutine for that. Each subroutine had an identical early out test at the beginning followed by some common additional setup when the test passed. Moving all that to the calling scope before then choosing the render method would save a little time. Maybe enough to account for your observation, though I'm a bit sceptical that it could be as much as 1ms.

Is that the original game? You'll only notice an improvement over the previous build if you are in an area where there were a lot of "simple" walls misidentified as Gouraud walls previously. In my mod, for example, on Level A, the atrium behind the first blast door that you open with the two switches, is largely composed of simple walls that were being rendered on the more expensive Gouraud path before. You can check which walls are which by using the E and R keys. Pressing R toggles the Gouraud walls on and off, E does the simple.

With simple walls enabled and Gouraud walls disabled, you can watch the runtime selection work by just firing plasma bolts past walls and suddenly seeing a wall appear because it has ended up with equal upper and lower brightnesses due to the dynamic light.

Last edited by Karlos; 01 April 2023 at 01:05.
Karlos is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 00:58   #1733
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipper View Post
You guys rock!
How's it going?
Karlos is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 01:10   #1734
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
original version. maybe just an emulator thing, but the lit wall is displayed as a 'simple wall' at some of its animation transitions (start/end frames?)
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 01:13   #1735
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
original version. maybe just an emulator thing, but the lit wall is displayed as a 'simple wall' at some of its animation transitions (start/end frames?)
It will become simple as soon as the top and bottom brightness values match, which will happen probably twice per animation, once as it brightens and then again as it darkens.
Karlos is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 01:20   #1736
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
that makes sense.

why the key changes for screen size and pixel mode toggle?
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 01:31   #1737
Karlos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 1,819
Evil grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
that makes sense.

why the key changes for screen size and pixel mode toggle?
Well there's already the lighting effects toggle, wall quality toggle and FPS cap on the function key row, so why not put the other display controls there too? Also, I don't have the number pad mapped on the laptop and I often end up using an external numberpad which is a ballache lol.
Karlos is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 01:33   #1738
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
yeah that does seem logical to have the 'function keys' handle these tasks.

make it so
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 01 April 2023, 02:26   #1739
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 583
Agreed. The weird numpad keys are an obstacle to enable in emulation.
pipper is online now  
Old 01 April 2023, 03:07   #1740
abu_the_monkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques View Post
Binary, please :-)
I will upload a binary at the next merge.

till then, have you tried the ones from

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p...postcount=1709
abu_the_monkey is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (2 members and 1 guests)
No.3, Toni Wilen
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Breed 3D II The Killing Grounds RTG patch Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 63 14 December 2022 15:20
Alien Breed & Alien Breed '92: SE - delay when picking up items / opening doors Ian support.WinUAE 16 23 December 2016 15:50
Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds code booklet alexh support.Games 19 10 October 2012 22:17
Alien Breed 3D 2 - The Killing Grounds Ironclaw support.Games 12 13 September 2005 13:07
HD Version of Alien Breed I ? Kintaro request.Old Rare Games 20 31 July 2003 10:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17834 seconds with 16 queries