English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2021, 18:52   #21
Psiq
Keen Collector

Psiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Herefordshire UK
Posts: 120
I set mine up a couple of weeks ago. I could not get any of may chargers to work. It does say in the manual that this may happen. I powered it off my Xbox 360 which is just below the Atari. It all works great on my 4mb STE with TOS 2.06. I have not tried it on my STFM.
Overall I am very happy with it.
Psiq is offline  
Old 13 May 2021, 18:10   #22
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post
I have received my unit last week, but only had time to play around with it yesterday. I suppose that my TOS is 1.02 PAL (I have a German 1040STFM with 1986,87 dates in GEM) and the image from google drive doesn't really work with it. You can see the directories but there is either nothing inside ("0 bytes") or some corrupted files and names.

I have tried several different SD cards and couple of chargers - using RPi3 one now. But it's always like that. I tried it in Hatari and the behaviour is the same in 1.02, but when I changed TOS to 1.04 it worked!

Then I tried another image on your interface, from Atari Age (1000 games in 1GB) and this one has mostly worked. Some games don't work but it might something to do with that image config and my machine.

So I suppose that I'd need to upgrade to 1.04 for full compatibility? This page says that TOS 1.00-1.02 is not really good for HDD operations.

Yes, very few users have ancient TOS; at least you are the first one with a very ancient TOS, the TOS 1.02


These first operating system versions appear to have bugs on their HDD operation code, fixed on TOS 1.04 and forward. But nobody tested this yet, except you



Sorry, but I can´t notice this previously, due to I only have TOS 1.06 on my STE, and betatesters only have TOS 1.04 to 2.06; as well one the new TOS 2.16


The general recommendation is to upgrade at least to TOS 1.04 fron non STE machines
masteries is offline  
Old 13 May 2021, 18:17   #23
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psiq View Post
I set mine up a couple of weeks ago. I could not get any of may chargers to work. It does say in the manual that this may happen. I powered it off my Xbox 360 which is just below the Atari. It all works great on my 4mb STE with TOS 2.06. I have not tried it on my STFM.
Overall I am very happy with it.

Yes, many chargers can´t provide stable voltage; the reason these can operate your connected device (such a mobile phone) is that the device is really being powered from the battery, while the battery is being charged.


But batteries produce very well stable voltage, however this voltage quality is not needed for charge purposes.


The ST/E circuitry is very sensitive to these non stable signal levels; quality power sources is needed, such an Ipod / Ipad power source or a Raspberry one.


I am glad it operates well!



A hard disk on these machines is a luxury commodity, compared to floppies or also Gotek
masteries is offline  
Old 13 May 2021, 18:20   #24
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Next week I will call more requests from this forum,
Philgood135fr will be called!
masteries is offline  
Old 13 May 2021, 18:30   #25
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by masteries View Post
Yes, very few users have ancient TOS; at least you are the first one with a very ancient TOS, the TOS 1.02

These first operating system versions appear to have bugs on their HDD operation code, fixed on TOS 1.04 and forward. But nobody tested this yet, except you

Sorry, but I can´t notice this previously, due to I only have TOS 1.06 on my STE, and betatesters only have TOS 1.04 to 2.06; as well one the new TOS 2.16
Well, it says so on the page of the image you linked to

Quote:
"TOS 1.00-1.02 is not supported, and I recommend TOS upgrade in such case, as TOS 1.04 is minimum for reliable work with hard drives."
I suggest you mention this in the first post, and perhaps link to the image he made specially for 1.00-1.02 TOS, link is in this post: https://atariage.com/forums/topic/31...omment=4821616

I don't regret buying it, it works quite well with most of the games from this image.

I was wondering if it's possible to tweak these images from Windows / Hatari? In case I would like to add or remove some games. Or maybe make a new image?
dreadnought is offline  
Old 13 May 2021, 18:36   #26
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post
Well, it says so on the page of the image you linked to



I suggest you mention this in the first post, and perhaps link to the image he made specially for 1.00-1.02 TOS, link is in this post: https://atariage.com/forums/topic/31...omment=4821616

I don't regret buying it, it works quite well with most of the games from this image.

I was wondering if it's possible to tweak these images from Windows / Hatari? In case I would like to add or remove some games. Or maybe make a new image?

Good idea!


Is this TOS 1.00 - 1.02 image non Windows compatible?
The provided one on the sheets, or in P. Putnik site, can be edited directly on Windows or Linux,


I read, that the changes are made on the hard disk partition itself.


Also, I wonder if the current Peter Putnik driver and partitioner can create ST/E TOS 1.00 - 1.02 and Windows compatible partitions
masteries is offline  
Old 13 May 2021, 18:48   #27
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by masteries View Post
Is this TOS 1.00 - 1.02 image non Windows compatible?
The provided one on the sheets, or in P. Putnik site, can be edited directly on Windows or Linux,
I don't know, I'v just tried to mount all these images via Win 10 and it tells me the "image is corrupted". That can't be true because they all work in Hatari.

How do you access these images on Windows?

About the driver, you have to ask the guy himself, for me it's all black magic. He's very active on AtariAge. He can be a bit difficult to talk to, but is no doubt very knowledgeable.
dreadnought is offline  
Old 13 May 2021, 19:13   #28
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post

How do you access these images on Windows?

Once the image is deployed on a micro SD card, you only need to place it on a SD card reader and plug in your PC computer.


The first partition will be shown as a standard USB stick, as another unit on your "My Pc" root.


To access second and forward partitions, use the PC software DrvImg; from Peter Putnik xD He is the Atari ST/E master!


http://atari.8bitchip.info/drimus.php

Last edited by masteries; 14 May 2021 at 12:38.
masteries is offline  
Old 18 May 2021, 15:40   #29
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by philgood1351fr View Post
Interested in one unit too. please PM if you can provide.

Thanks a lot.
Phil

Your unit is ready!


You have a private message,
masteries is offline  
Old 18 May 2021, 19:47   #30
philgood1351fr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Coulommiers/France
Posts: 62
Great. Thanks.
philgood1351fr is offline  
Old 20 May 2021, 11:12   #31
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
MEGA GREAT UPDATE

You will smile a lot,


I was waiting until the new firmware is stable for any STM32 version, from original one to clone ones,

I added DMA transactions for the SD card, using a triple buffer...


Now the reading speed is near 650 KB/s and writing can reach up to 385 KB/s (when SD card has plenty free space); this device is turning very similar to an UltraSatan, in terms of performance. Maintaining its lower cost nature!












All users that acquired my manufactured hard disk units, will receive a link with the update file.
masteries is offline  
Old 24 May 2021, 16:58   #32
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by philgood1351fr View Post
Interested in one unit too. please PM if you can provide.

Thanks a lot.
Phil



Your unit is sent today,


Tracking number is provided on a private message,


Enjoy it!
masteries is offline  
Old 11 June 2021, 10:20   #33
Psiq
Keen Collector

Psiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Herefordshire UK
Posts: 120
I am loving this little device and it has breathed new life into my Atari.


I have started up my own Youtube channel and I have created a short video as an overview to this device.


I am a very basic user and the overview is not a technical video. if you want to see it works, know that it works very well and you are wondering if you need one. Then hopefully this video will answer some of your questions.


[ Show youtube player ]
Psiq is offline  
Old 14 June 2021, 00:12   #34
zeropolis79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Gosport, Hampshire
Posts: 28
Just found out about this project from a Youtube video - I'd love to get it if at all possible please, price permitting.

Many thanks!
zeropolis79 is offline  
Old 14 June 2021, 14:20   #35
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropolis79 View Post
Just found out about this project from a Youtube video - I'd love to get it if at all possible please, price permitting.

Many thanks!

Thanks for your interest and support!


You have a private message,
masteries is offline  
Old 19 June 2021, 11:16   #36
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Updated compatibility list for SD cards, 3 SDXC cards are tested by a french user, these cards work ok:

Kingston 1 GB (tested by Shaoth)
Kingston 2 GB (tested by Shaoth)
Philips 64 GB UHS-1 A1 V10 Micro SDXC (tested by Shaoth)
Sandisk Extreme Plus 64 GB UHS-3 Micro SDXC (tested by Shaoth)
Samsung Evo Plus 128 GB UHS-3 Micro SDXC (tested by Shaoth)
masteries is offline  
Old 19 June 2021, 11:21   #37
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Updated micro SD cards compatibility list:

Tested micro SD cards:

-Working micro SD cards:

Kingston de 8 GB clase 4
Kingston de 4 GB clase 4
Intenso de 8 GB clase 4
Intenso de 16 GB clase 6
Intenso de 4 GB clase 10
Intenso de 8 GB clase 10
Kingston de 16 GB clase 10
Sandisk de 16 GB clase 6
Kingston 2GB class ?? (SD-C02G - Tested by Jltursan )
Kingmax 2GB class ?? (Tested by Jltursan)
Nisu 2GB Class 6 (Tested by Jltursan)
Toshiba 16 GB Class 10 UHS-1 (Tested by Real Larry (AF) )
Mitos brand 1 GB and 4 GB Class 10 (https://de.aliexpress.com/item/1005002096781542.html, Tested by Real Larry (AF) and Philgood1351fr (EAB) )
Intenso de 32 GB clase 10 (Tested by Real Larry (AF) )
Kingston 1 GB (tested by Shaoth)
Kingston 2 GB (tested by Shaoth)
Philips 64 GB UHS-1 A1 V10 Micro SDXC (tested by Shaoth)
Sandisk Extreme Plus 64 GB UHS-3 Micro SDXC (tested by Shaoth)
Samsung Evo Plus 128 GB UHS-3 Micro SDXC (tested by Shaoth)


-Non working ones:

Sandisk 1 GB (With the new firmware, it turned incompatible, things of life)
Cloudisk 512 MB
No brand 4 GB
MediaRange 8 GB class 10 (3 bombs appear, non compatible)
Sandisk 32 GB clase 10 UHS-1


-Tested power sources that work ok:

Old Ipod 5V 1A (from old Ipod times, when Ipod had a hard disk inside)
Farnell USB power source 5V 2A
Original Raspberry Pi 2/3 5.1V 2.5A power source (Tested by Real Larry)
masteries is offline  
Old 23 June 2021, 13:12   #38
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Shipment cost is increased (1€ regarding previous cost) due to Courier prices changed on June 2021

--------------------------

@microfinne , @Fisherman your unit is ready!

You have a private message,
masteries is offline  
Old 26 June 2021, 10:17   #39
Fisherman
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: XANTHI
Posts: 1
i just saw the msg, i will send the moneyu now!!!!!
Fisherman is offline  
Old 28 June 2021, 10:56   #40
masteries
Registered User

masteries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Madrid
Age: 37
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisherman View Post
i just saw the msg, i will send the moneyu now!!!!!

Received, thanks!


Also the @microfinne payment is received,


Your units will be sent today,
masteries is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exe loads faster than disk ..... why ? chip support.Other 15 14 February 2019 21:03
Can I use an 8GB Compact flash card for hard disk in an A1200 Xav support.Hardware 9 25 October 2017 10:39
Reputable pre-configured CF Card won't show up in Kipper2k A508IDE hard disk board Starglider 2 support.Hardware 47 22 May 2015 22:14
A1200 hard disk compatible Sound/Pro/Fast tracker? Kenan support.Apps 6 15 July 2013 15:04
hard drive interface for the A1000 boing_1000 support.Hardware 10 17 August 2006 22:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09578 seconds with 14 queries