English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 December 2020, 20:42   #1
gurth
Registered User

gurth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Halifax
Posts: 186
3.1.4 and unable to install xsurf-500 via ACA500+

I have foolishly wiped my sdcard this afternoon and created a fresh install of 3.1.4 (bought today too!).

Install has all gone well. I am booting to Workbench, all looks good.

My next plan was to install the software / drives for my xsurf-500 which piggy-backs off my ACA500+. Within the ACA500 menu there is an option to instal the network interface, I run that, it unpacks a virtual disk but hangs at an empty workbench screen with no icons or menu.

I suspect the virtual disk is not liking what it sees in Kickstart 3.1.4 land but I am unable to proceed.

Any ideas?

Last edited by gurth; 29 December 2020 at 20:46. Reason: typo
gurth is offline  
Old 29 December 2020, 21:32   #2
gurth
Registered User

gurth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Halifax
Posts: 186
One solution is to:

1. revert back to kickstart 3.1
2. re-install workbench 3.1
3. install the xsurf drivers and setup (I made a copy of the disk at this point)
4. switch to kickstart 3.1.4
5. upgrade workbench from 3.1 to 3.1.4

Although I do enjoy Amiga'in it is at times very frustrating. Simple tasks can take you off in directions you never intended and paints you into corners you could never foresee
gurth is offline  
Old 29 December 2020, 21:49   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,399
You could have tried to LoadModule workbench.library from floppy disk and then boot from the virtual disk.
thomas is offline  
Old 19 October 2021, 20:13   #4
rjd324
Registered User

rjd324's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: NE / UK
Posts: 174
If you have roadshow setup and working with a previous device then is it not possible to just copy over the relevant device and not need to install the amitcp tcp stack at all.

So literally the only thing to change is the device and whatever small configuration changes to roadshow files?
rjd324 is offline  
Old 20 October 2021, 13:56   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,819
Yes, it is totally possible. Copy the driver to devs:networks and then make a copy of one of the netinterface files and edit it to point to the correct driver.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 October 2021, 01:41   #6
rjd324
Registered User

rjd324's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: NE / UK
Posts: 174
This worked perfectly. I also ran into the same issue the OP had. Does Jens create some proprietary image that only the aca 500 can read ? That network install disk,even when writing the image to diskette cannot be read. Only virtual disk using the aca
rjd324 is offline  
Old 23 October 2021, 15:19   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjd324 View Post
Does Jens create some proprietary image that only the aca 500 can read ?
It seems like so because the image starts with "NDOS" rather than "DOS".

But that's not to copy-protect the disk but to make it work with the ACA permanently. The ADF image you can download is not the network install disk itself. It's rather a flash update for the ACA. The flash update contains an LZX-compressed ADF image of the actual install disk.

You can use an editor, find the LZX eyecatcher at sector boundary in the image and copy the rest of the file starting at the eyecatcher into another file called for example upd.lzx. Then you can use the command lzx x upd.lzx to extract the network install ADF.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga ACA500+ addition and Workbench install jcrubin support.Hardware 1 09 April 2018 18:04
Help Amiga 500 and ACA500 gurth support.Hardware 8 22 October 2017 19:03
WHDLoad - Unable to Install Shadow of the Beast liviux76 support.Games 7 14 December 2016 19:46
Which version for Amiga 500 and ACA500? dimfil project.ClassicWB 14 25 December 2014 23:40
ACA500 install gurth support.Hardware 19 24 March 2014 00:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08308 seconds with 15 queries