English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 August 2012, 15:38   #1
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 275
Help transferring bulk files to A1200 CF HDD on a PC

My A1200 uses a compact flash card as the hard disk. I use a CF card reader to transfer files from my PC to the CF card within WinUAE.

I need to transfer a couple of hundred meg to the CF HDD and I am doing this within WinUAE, from a file folder on my PC (which shows up in Workbench) to my CF HDD via the reader.

Workbench is booting directly from the CF hard disk, attached to my PC via the card reader.

The file transfer takes hours and often fails. Transferring small numbers of files is ok, but vey slow.

Any other ideas for transferring these files faster and more reliably?

I can't simply do it via Windows as its an Amiga formatted HDD, so incompatible.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 01 August 2012, 16:06   #2
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 612
Maybe use a null-modem cable?

I got so bored with exactly this problem, so i bought a network card (PCMCIA) to solve the problem.
1time is offline  
Old 01 August 2012, 16:12   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 6,654
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
You are already doing it the fastest way, Null modem or PCMCIA network will be much slower.

Maybe the CF is on it's last legs? Or it might be the way you have prepared the CF try adding some extra buffers - open a CLI Shell and type:

addbuffers <drive>: 1000

example:

addbuffers DH0: 1000

(do for the drive/partition you want to copy to)

Also I assume you have WinUAE setup with a faster CPU speed/JIT? +Z3 Fast Ram? This will help, plus there is a turbo mode but I forget the key stroke to enable it...

Hope that helps,

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 August 2012, 16:18   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
The file transfer takes hours and often fails. Transferring small numbers of files is ok, but vey slow.

This is not ok. Copying files inside WinUAE should be almost as fast as copying files in Windows Explorer. And it should never fail.

What does "fail" mean? What happens exactly?
thomas is offline  
Old 01 August 2012, 16:37   #5
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 55
Posts: 1,855
Got MaxTransfer set correctly?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 01 August 2012, 17:13   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,089
How are you copying files? Not all file utilities handle very deep paths or long file names.

Try plain "copy from: to: clone all quiet" and uaehf.device.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 August 2012, 21:32   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,903
Send a message via MSN to FOL
I would agree with steve, I used to get same problem when I first ventured into CF HDD.
I had to leave my PC on for 24 hours once, until I learnt about buffers.

As soon as I added 2000 buffers, it only took about 20 mins to copy over 3GB's of data across, with no errors.
FOL is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 00:35   #8
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 275
added buffers and used a higher powered emulated amiga in WinUAE and the transfer was much quicker.

It was failing because every few minutes Windows would try to recongise the CF disk and a box would pop up asking to format the disk, which woukd interrupt the file transfer in WinUAE

So now I want to copy the entire contents of my CF card to my PC. Speed is sorted, so how do I go about preventing that annoying interrupt?

Also, how many buffers can you add before the benefit stops?
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 00:41   #9
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 45
Posts: 1,024
Quote:
so how do I go about preventing that annoying interrupt?
cancel before you transfere files
johnim is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 01:06   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 6,654
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
That message should only pop up the first time you insert the CF, I'm wondering if the card reader is resetting it's self?

Have you another CF reader to try?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 01:08   #11
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 45
Posts: 1,024
mine dont interfere i dont even cancel it
johnim is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 01:20   #12
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,903
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Mine used to do that, it would go for about 30 mins, then stop.
I had to do F12, unplug reader, plug it back in, then unpause WinUAE and it would continue normally.
FOL is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 15:31   #13
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 275
I've bought another cheap USB CF reader for my PC just in case its a loose connection at the USB end as it did seem to be a bit sensitive when moved. When it arrives I'll update this thread.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 15:36   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 6,654
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
I've bought another cheap USB CF reader for my PC just in case its a loose connection at the USB end as it did seem to be a bit sensitive when moved. When it arrives I'll update this thread.
Good luck
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 August 2012, 23:14   #15
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
You are already doing it the fastest way, Null modem or PCMCIA network will be much slower.

Maybe the CF is on it's last legs? Or it might be the way you have prepared the CF try adding some extra buffers - open a CLI Shell and type:

addbuffers <drive>: 1000

example:

addbuffers DH0: 1000

(do for the drive/partition you want to copy to)

Also I assume you have WinUAE setup with a faster CPU speed/JIT? +Z3 Fast Ram? This will help, plus there is a turbo mode but I forget the key stroke to enable it...

Hope that helps,

Steve.
Ah I didn't know that! 20+ years on and the Amiga still has lovely wee tricks up it's sleeve Nice one
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 03 August 2012, 11:53   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
It was failing because every few minutes Windows would try to recongise the CF disk and a box would pop up asking to format the disk, which woukd interrupt the file transfer in WinUAE
My guess is hardware problem or broken adapter firmware that hates some newer USB features, perhaps for example power saving etc..

Slower transfer speeds (when writing to CF) are normal because there are no delayed write caches. Windows won't cache plain block devices because caching is normally handled by filesystem drivers.

Cache needs to be implemented in WinUAE (workaround is huge buffer numbers but buffers isn't exactly same as real cache) but it isn't trivial and it is very easy to create cache that misses some corner cases, also handling possible disk errors will be complex.
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring files from Amiga to PC. davidmanvell support.Hardware 12 07 June 2011 10:03
Easier way of transferring files edd_jedi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 15 03 July 2010 18:44
help transferring files to my CF drive Dreamcast270mhz support.Other 3 22 January 2010 00:18
transferring files from pc->amiga with floppy sanDae New to Emulation or Amiga scene 98 28 January 2009 12:46
Problems transferring files from PC to Amiga Gary335 support.Other 8 26 January 2009 19:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09560 seconds with 13 queries