English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 06 June 2023, 21:43   #1
lionagony

6 Playfields Scrolling Prototype

I was just looking at the post from a few years ago on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/yves.grolet...22868958655944 of Yves Grolet the coder of the beautiful game Agony. He released the source code of the game and in the package said there is also the source of a 6 playfields scrolling prototype he was working on. Here is a picture

Has anyone tried to play around with this at all? I'm not a coder but just wanted to make people aware of it if they hadn't seen it so maybe it could be used for something. The 3 layers of parallax in Agony are incredible but here he is talking 6 playfields 8 direction 50 Hz scrolling + 20 levels of parallax. This is screaming out to be tried for a new game. Does this look feasible? Please somone give it a try, I'd be eternally grateful
Old 06 June 2023, 22:37   #2
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

They also coded Unreal (the amiga one) that was doing a remarkable job with 3D but that source code got lost
Old 07 June 2023, 09:48   #3
grond

If you use 6 playfields, you probably end up with very few colours on screen (something between 6 and 12). This could be enhanced by some copper fading and by using some reduced modern-style esthetics that work with very few primary colours. I'm thinking about Thrust on the C=64. Just a couple of colours but very entertaining gameplay. But in such a case the many layers of parallax should not be purely decorative but a part of the game mechanics (now I'm thinking of Forbidden Forrest 2, again C=64, where the player character can change distance / parallax layers from the camera).
Old 07 June 2023, 13:05   #4
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel