English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 August 2019, 23:48   #221
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnFante View Post
Cool

Will you releasing an updated installer?
Yes, within some days and it will also include Amiga OS 3.1.4.1 support and BestWB 1.2.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 20 August 2019, 23:01   #222
Tekk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 19
Nice one. Any news yet?
Tekk is offline  
Old 23 August 2019, 16:52   #223
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekk View Post
Nice one. Any news yet?
Yes, HstWB Installer v1.4.0 has been released at https://hstwb.firstrealize.com, see post http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=344. This supports Amiga OS 3.1.4.1 update and includes BestWB 1.2.

But there's is currently some issues, if using Kickstart 3.1.4 with install mode and self install images. So please use Kickstart 3.1 until I have release HstWB Installer v1.4.1, which will be released during the weekend.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 25 August 2019, 11:33   #224
RedAvatar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Belgium
Posts: 22
That's great timing, Cyberhead97. My 32GB CF card, 3.1.4 roms and 8MB Fast Ram are underway and your tool will be very handy here.
RedAvatar is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 09:28   #225
Tekk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 19
Cool, great stuff. Thanks!
Tekk is offline  
Old 08 February 2020, 09:56   #226
keito
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Enhanced CWB

Did some stress testing of my setup yesterday morning for a bit of fun before I release it out in the wild. Still some things to do but it's nearly there now.
This is runnning on a RaspberryPi4 and booting off of a minimal and fast Manjaro linux base straight into Workbench, sdcard is 32GB and it's packed with extra software etc.

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by keito; 08 February 2020 at 10:11.
keito is offline  
Old 14 April 2020, 06:36   #227
rmadden
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Antioch
Posts: 18
Has anyone actually managed to get ClassicWB working with 3.1.4? I have tried numerous times and have encountered nothing but problems. If anyone has succeeded, I'd be interested in knowing just how it was accomplished. Thanks!
rmadden is offline  
Old 14 April 2020, 06:40   #228
CyanPixie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
The only way I have gotten ClassicWB going on 3.1.4 was to use HSTWB Installer.

It can be quite complicated to use but if you persevere you will eventually get a build you can use.

I was going to make a YouTube about using it - but just haven't gotten around to it.
CyanPixie is offline  
Old 14 April 2020, 11:02   #229
eispic
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Paradies / Sky
Posts: 36
A Video on Youtube was great !!
eispic is offline  
Old 14 April 2020, 14:53   #230
rmadden
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Antioch
Posts: 18
I tried to get the installer to work a few times ... all met with disaster. The instructions that accompany the installer are ... incomplete.

A detailed youtube video would be great, especially since there aren't any "out there" there I've been able to locate.
rmadden is offline  
Old 24 April 2020, 11:42   #231
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 680
I started looking at 3.1.4 mainly due to curiosity.

HSTWB is just very poor on documentation. It doesn't tell you what it needs. I know it can't read the kickstart files but it doesn't let you know the names or where to put them. I could start examining the powershell scripts but, to be honest, I don't need to as the latest ClassicWB 3.1 works fine.

I may revisit it later when it's had a little more time to mature.

M.
Macca is offline  
Old 02 May 2020, 22:58   #232
rmadden
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Antioch
Posts: 18
I'm currently doing the Happy Dance !! I finally managed to get ClassicWB installed with OS3.1.4 . It's currently only on winUAE - but I'll be copying it to a CF card soon to run on my real Amiga 1200.

I'll say this, the instructions aren't the easiest to follow but, with time & patience, they can be followed. Once I get it installed on my real 1200, I'll report back on how it runs and/or any difficulties involved.
rmadden is offline  
Old 07 May 2020, 03:05   #233
rmadden
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Antioch
Posts: 18
For best results installing ClassicWB on 3.1.4, use this link - it's very good - - -https://github.com/henrikstengaard/hstwb-installer/wiki/Use-prebuild-self-install-image . I was able to recreate the installation several times, so I know this will work for just about anyone "out there". I haven't copied the installation to an actual CF card (yet). That will be accomplished this weekend. I wanted to get comfortable with what's here in winUAE before moving to a real Amiga 1200.
rmadden is offline  
Old 08 June 2020, 16:10   #234
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 892
What a nightmare OS 3.1.4 has been for me what can I say. Between an ACA1233n not mapping rom properly because ACATool is not as good it seems as the old Maprom function to installing the OS only to find there is bugger all on it and extracting and installing is a total nightmare on it because of no Dopus. Then trying to install Dopus nearly broke me as well!!

By far the best experience I have had in my multiple trial installations has been using this http://m68k.aminet.net/package/misc/os/Updateto314

So much better solution, all the programs are still there!!!

I haven't read everypost on this thread so far but I will. I'm just wondering though would you guys recommend the Updateto314 or not? Seemed to work out well when I did it. But then I probably haven't tested every avenue.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 18:17   #235
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 892
@KKR75

I have classic workbench full installed, it only says OS 3.1 in Scalos though. Would I still be able to use this ClassicWB-FULL v3.1.1 to update?
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 16 June 2020, 09:53   #236
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 892
Anyone else tried this yet?

https://github.com/henrikstengaard/h...-install-image
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 16 June 2020, 12:06   #237
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidgerry View Post

Link not working.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 17 June 2020, 11:48   #238
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz12 View Post
Link not working.

So it is! Here you go.

https://hstwb.firstrealize.com/

and

https://github.com/henrikstengaard/h...-install-image

There are so many options it blew my mind a bit. I have managed to do it though. I'd really love to understand what the other options are and how to do it on a real Amiga. How I did it was build the HDF and then used my Image to USB software to write the entire file to CF card and it worked.

The genius thing about these builds is that they patch the kickstart 3.1.4 rom for you so all the fucking hassle I have had trying to maprom using my Aca1233n-40 have been eliminated via this route (I would still love to know how to though). So with 3.1 rom chips in your machine you can stick the CF card in with new workbench on there and it will boot without issue. The build I chose was ClassicWB full so what I ended up with was ClassicWB build over OS 3.1.4 with Kick 46.143 patched in startup so it's perfect for me as I love ClassicWB.

I tried an 8GB image to begin with. I will do a 16gb later this week for a laugh.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 20 June 2020, 22:57   #239
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 385
I am about to open my A1200 (ESCOM), pop in the two new 3.1.4 ROM chips, and insert the floppies to upgrade to the new 3.1.4!


Question:


Is WHDload, XBench, and other programs (DoPus, etc.) compatible with 3.1.4?


I wish there was an easier method to upgrade the existing pre-built ClassicWB to 3.1.4 though!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 20 June 2020, 23:24   #240
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,720
OS 3.1.4 is an update to OS 3.1 so it is compatible with everything except for a few rare exceptions, but is not fully compatible with native OS 3.5/3.9 applications.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB OS3.9 in emulator elowan project.ClassicWB 3 16 January 2013 14:54
ClassicWB OS3.9/BB 3+4? esc project.ClassicWB 4 19 September 2011 12:00
ClassicWB OS3.5/3.9 question MethodGit project.ClassicWB 3 01 October 2010 11:00
Multiboot ClassicWB/3.1 and ClassicWB/OS3.9 MrGimper support.Hardware 4 16 September 2010 19:42
ClassicWB OS3.9 2.5 merlinkv project.ClassicWB 9 05 May 2010 12:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11481 seconds with 14 queries