English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 December 2020, 17:34   #141
Brick Nash
Prototron

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 326
Added music

Hi folks,

Thought I'd jump back on here and post a video of the game with some music (nothing else is new bar an animation bug fix).

EDIT: I added a colour cycle effect for the neon, and the new video is below.

[ Show youtube player ]

I slogged away in Protracker for an entire day and covered the Stage 1 track, and it was one of the worst experiences I've ever had, but it's done now so all good.

I had a hell of a time getting it to work as it seemed to be affecting the sound effect samples, and a 5 minute tweak turned into a 6 hour battle, but it sorted itself out too. Source code (with the music mod) can be downloaded here: https://drive.google.com/uc?export=d...Xq2fHOBK98GLj3

Also, Dan (and everyone else), my sincerest apologies for not replying to your last posts. I've been knee deep in Amstrad Z80 for the last few months and I didn't get any emails that anyone had replied, so I'm very sorry. I'll look at your scrolling example tonight!

Cheers!

Last edited by Brick Nash; 19 December 2020 at 18:06.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 23 December 2020, 20:29   #142
Hache
Registered User
Hache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 175
Looks great, Keep up the good work!!
Hache is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 16:25   #143
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick Nash View Post
Hi folks,

Thought I'd jump back on here and post a video of the game with some music (nothing else is new bar an animation bug fix).

EDIT: I added a colour cycle effect for the neon, and the new video is below.

[ Show youtube player ]

I slogged away in Protracker for an entire day and covered the Stage 1 track, and it was one of the worst experiences I've ever had, but it's done now so all good.

I had a hell of a time getting it to work as it seemed to be affecting the sound effect samples, and a 5 minute tweak turned into a 6 hour battle, but it sorted itself out too. Source code (with the music mod) can be downloaded here: https://drive.google.com/uc?export=d...Xq2fHOBK98GLj3

Also, Dan (and everyone else), my sincerest apologies for not replying to your last posts. I've been knee deep in Amstrad Z80 for the last few months and I didn't get any emails that anyone had replied, so I'm very sorry. I'll look at your scrolling example tonight!

Cheers!
Nice one Brick Nash

Can someone compile for me so that I can create an .ADF?

Edit: tried installing Amos Prof 2 + Compiler and compiling myself, though had loads of issues i.e. had to change paths to files, remove any comments and labels, but when testing in Amos Prof it complains about extensions not loaded...

Last edited by DamienD; 25 December 2020 at 18:22.
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 18:33   #144
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 1,233
Wow - it looks absolutely amazing.
These animated neon signs are bringing so much dynamics to the picture.
And music of course, it's top.

Please, keep up the great work.
d4rk3lf is online now  
Old 26 December 2020, 00:37   #145
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
After a lot of headache, finally got the source to start compiling but it looks like it's frozen and the status bar doesn't move

DamienD is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 01:17   #146
Dan
Registered User

Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 549
@DamienD: Erase the banks from the memory, then save the amos file, then i think you should be able to compile it.

Use "Erase All" command in direct mode.
Dan is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 11:19   #147
Brick Nash
Prototron

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 326
@DamienD I literally just made a new setup the other day which it compiles on (no more Amos for Windows) so I'll do that when I get home.

Thanks for the comments though folks. I'm ripping the code apart to try and optimise it a bit better at the moment as it's still really slow on a Cycle Exact setting. My Main Loop has lots of checks in it which is likely bottle necking everything, so I'll see what I can do as I'm sure I can get it running a bit faster.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 11:37   #148
Dan
Registered User

Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 549
I'm not really an expert in Amos Coding. Advanced, yes, but there are still few parts which i do not understand yet.
I understand the double buffering principle from the PC/Windows perspective.
Amos/Amiga seems to be using it too, but then, when i want to do it, it is totally different than what i would expect.

(I know: too many different things, Double Buffering of screen, of bobs, of screen with bobs etc etc. makes the whole thing complicated for a newb.)

Anyway, i have looked through the code, in a hope to find something that is slowing down the whole thing.

But everything looks normal, in my opinion, part from that I have noticed that one function is using a Gosub without Return.
(In some cases the Return is missed because a goto is used to jump to the other things)

Usually, if a Game runs like that, sooner or later a stack overflow will happen, but luckily, because it is used in a function, the overflow does not happen. (I have tested this.)

My suggestion would be to ignore the lower-end amiga's and program the Game for Emulated/Accelerated amiga's as these seem to run it as desired.

Last edited by Dan; 26 December 2020 at 11:45.
Dan is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 16:19   #149
Brick Nash
Prototron

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
My suggestion would be to ignore the lower-end amiga's and program the Game for Emulated/Accelerated amiga's as these seem to run it as desired.
I think you are right. Maybe I'm expecting too much out of Amos for what it is.

@DamienD Odd, I tried compiling there myself and I got the same error too. I can compile the new build of the game (sans the intro) but that version's not playable right now as the code is in bits. The intro seems to be struggling a bit as well, even on fastest possible, but I've not touched that code in months so not sure what's happening. I'll have a look at it once I get a sleep, as my brain isn't fit to wrestle with a computer at the moment.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 16:28   #150
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Phew, well that was a mission!!!

Finally managed to get the game compiled and working

Next problem was that everything added up to 1,268,728 bytes...

Managed to crunch everything down enough to fit on a disk

So, you will find the updated .ADF "Streets of Rage (demo-playable) (2020)(Prototron)[AMOS].zip" now in The Zone!
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 17:00   #151
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 1,233
Thanks Damiano
d4rk3lf is online now  
Old 26 December 2020, 17:14   #152
Brick Nash
Prototron

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 326
@DamienD Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to do this. I'm sure you have better things to do on boxing day!

Did you discover what was wrong? Just so i know what to look out for.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 18:04   #153
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick Nash View Post
@DamienD Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to do this. I'm sure you have better things to do on boxing day!
Truth be told, I didn't really... my Christmas's are usually me by myself

All my family is in Australia; and all of my friends in London spend the time with their family.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick Nash View Post
Did you discover what was wrong? Just so i know what to look out for.
Yeah, a few things:
  • Needed to add in the AMOS extensions: "TOME", "Range" and "AMCAF".
  • Kept getting errors in relation to Include ".../Intro.AMOS". Ended up opening this file, and then copying / pasting into the top of the main .AMOS file.
  • Kept getting errors about "variable buffer to small" when testing, had to increase to "300000".
  • Had to "Re-Tokenise" in order to see all the files used. Then amended the paths from "HD0:Streets of Rage/Backgrounds/<filename>" etc. to be "/Backgrounds/<filename>" etc.
Now everything tested, could compile, and finally run without any issues

Anyway, in The Zone! I've put a file "StreetsOfRage_modified.lha" which works immediately and nothing needs to be changed

Last edited by DamienD; 26 December 2020 at 18:10.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 18:16   #154
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,876
by yourself? why didn't you say I could of visited and annoyed you
Seriously thanks for the ADF

I assume? it's so big because you've gone back to using a huge IFF?

also did you erase all ? that should insure all the junk Amos saves is gone and it works on 68000.

Last edited by Retro1234; 26 December 2020 at 18:23.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 18:19   #155
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
I assume? it's so big because you've gone back to using a huge IFF?
No, it's due to the 356,000 .MOD file
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 18:23   #156
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,876
ok fair enough I'm definitely no expert on sound files so don't know what can be done about that.

also did you erase all ? that should insure all the junk Amos saves is gone and it works on 68000.

take care.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 18:24   #157
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
ok fair enough I'm definitely no expert on sound files so don't know what can be done about that.

also did you erase all ? that should insure all the junk Amos saves is gone and it works on 68000.

take care.
I'm also no expert; it's the first time I've installed AMOS Professional / Compiler 2.0, and spent many hours working everything out...

Nope, didn't erase anything. Should I have?

The .AMOS file is 639,550. After being compiled it's 616,536.

Regarding the .MOD file, .IFF and .ABK files. I used Crunch-Mania V1.91t to compress these Data files.

Regarding the compiled game exe, I used CrunchyDat to compress.

This is how I got 1,268,728 to easily fit on an .ADF

Last edited by DamienD; 26 December 2020 at 18:35. Reason: Fixed spelling mistakes...
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 18:37   #158
Brick Nash
Prototron

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post

Yeah, a few things:
  • Needed to add in the AMOS extensions: "TOME", "Range" and "AMCAF".
  • Kept getting errors in relation to Include ".../Intro.AMOS". Ended up opening this file, and then copying / pasting into the top of the main .AMOS file.
  • Kept getting errors about "variable buffer to small" when testing, had to increase to "300000".
  • Had to "Re-Tokenise" in order to see all the files used. Then amended the paths from "HD0:Streets of Rage/Backgrounds/<filename>" etc. to be "/Backgrounds/<filename>" etc.
That makes sense as I've suspected something was fishy with the intro file (the include kept making Amos for Windows do funny things).

Also, I do use a LOT of named variables, which I've just found out are all reserved spaces of 32-Bit Long words, and often I only use them to say "On" or "Off", so I'm working to use just a few variables and have them as Bitmaps for a variety of different things.

The paths are my fault as I should have set them before uploading.

Quote:
No, it's due to the 356,000 .MOD file
Eeee, that might be me not paying attention to the sample sizes, and there might also be samples in there which I'm not even using in the song. I've done a slightly newer version of it anyway which has better accents and panning, so I can check what samples I'm not using in the MOD and delete them, then upload a new version.

I'll need to figure out how to make a disk image myself and save you lovely people all the hassle, but again I do really appreciate the time and effort!
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 26 December 2020, 23:01   #159
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick Nash View Post
I'll need to figure out how to make a disk image myself and save you lovely people all the hassle, but again I do really appreciate the time and effort!
Crunching down files and making custom .ADFs is my specialty

Sometimes takes a lot of work, and did in this case as I had to successfully compile first, but I quite enjoy it
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 01:02   #160
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Phew, well that was a mission!!!

Finally managed to get the game compiled and working

Next problem was that everything added up to 1,268,728 bytes...

Managed to crunch everything down enough to fit on a disk

So, you will find the updated .ADF "Streets of Rage (demo-playable) (2020)(Prototron)[AMOS].zip" now in The Zone!
Nice work! How do you crunch everything else down? I know exe files can be easily done.
TjLaZer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Streets of Rage 2 with Blitz Master484 Coders. Blitz Basic 48 19 April 2020 12:33
Streets of Rage I vs II vs III - Which is Best? ZEUSDAZ Retrogaming General Discussion 16 15 August 2019 23:53
Final Fight vs Streets Of Rage 2 (Which Is Best?) ZEUSDAZ Retrogaming General Discussion 32 15 February 2017 20:30
Streets of Rage Remake Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 10 21 April 2011 23:30
Streets of Rage for Amiga The Master Retrogaming General Discussion 6 17 August 2006 12:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10901 seconds with 16 queries