English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 March 2023, 13:04   #1
mateusz_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 181
[ReAction, Intuition] Making "HELP or ABOUT" dialog box or window.

Hi,
Could you suggest me a way to create a separate holp/about
dialog box or window?

In my GUI I have a button called "HELP". If user press it I want to open
new window with scroll list containing some text and explanations.

The first thing that came up to my mind is just to open a new window,
and put a scroll list there with all the text.. is that correct?
Should I also point somehow that this window is the child of main window?



My GUI works both with ReAction and Intuition,
I mean if the ReAction is not available it creates standard
Intuition gui. So I need to implement both solutions..
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 03 March 2023, 13:38   #2
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,624
How about showing an AmigaGuide document in a modeless popup window?
hooverphonique is online now  
Old 03 March 2023, 15:25   #3
mateusz_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
How about showing an AmigaGuide document in a modeless popup window?
interesting idea..
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 04 March 2023, 01:06   #4
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
 
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,631
Windows on AmigaOS don't have parents or children.

If you want some fairly straightforward code for a ReAction About window you could look at the source code of MCE or a similar program, although they don't use a scrolling credits list.
Minuous is offline  
Old 04 March 2023, 02:54   #5
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,216
But intuition has Requesters. And I do not mean Easy or Auto Requesters, but "struct Requester". They work pretty much like child windows, without a frame around them.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 05 March 2023, 12:11   #6
mateusz_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
How about showing an AmigaGuide document in a modeless popup window?
This is actually cool idea and I used it.
But there is one thing.

So I am clicking the HELP button and then in my C code I have:
Code:
Execute("sys:utilities/multiview data/docs/help.guide", 0, 0);
The document is opened fine - but the hyperlinks doesnt want to work.
I got the message "Could't open data/docs/help.guide".
Sometimes that depends on system that I am testing (3.1, 3.2, 3.5)
works on one doesnt work on different.


When I click the help.guide icon it always works, also when I propt the full path in the shell:
Code:
1. RamDisk:> sys:utilities/multiview dh1:data/docs/help.guide
But when we are in the directory and the path is not full the hyperlinks in the document wont work:
Code:
1.dh1:> sys:utilities/multiview dh1:data/docs/help.guide
So there are some paths issues I dont know how to solve it.
In worst case scenario I will just make it single page without hyperlinks.
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 05 March 2023, 12:55   #7
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,985
try

Code:
cd dh1:data/docs
sys:utilities/multiview help.guide
You can use newline characters to execute multiple command lines in one Execute statement:

Code:
Execute("cd data/docs\nsys:utilities/multiview help.guide", 0, 0);
thomas is offline  
Old 05 March 2023, 14:54   #8
mateusz_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
try

Code:
cd dh1:data/docs
sys:utilities/multiview help.guide
You can use newline characters to execute multiple command lines in one Execute statement:

Code:
Execute("cd data/docs\nsys:utilities/multiview help.guide", 0, 0);
Yes, simple and brilliant solution, Thank You again Thomas!
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 05 June 2023, 20:38   #9
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 384
Sorry, late to the party, but I wanted to give the proper answer to this question (the Intuition way).

The solution is easy. Literally. Use the EasyStruct and EasyRequest.

Here's an example based on what I did for my app.

Code:
struct EasyStruct aboutRequester = {
		sizeof(struct EasyStruct),
		0,
		"About",
		"APP TITLE HERE\n\n"
		"Version APP_VERSION\n"
		"Build date:  __DATE__ \n"
		"Build number: " BUILD_NUMBER "\n\n"
		"Developed by Your name here",
		"OK"
	};
EasyRequest(mainWindow, &aboutRequester, NULL, NULL);
Nightfox is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Voices8" 8 Channel Soundtracker "DemoSongI" song - "This is the Amiga with 8 Voices" DemosongIHunter request.Music 45 23 May 2022 20:07
Intuition - Is there a "table" gadget? Sim085 Coders. C/C++ 1 13 April 2022 23:16
Clicking Desktop in file dialog "hangs" mark_k support.WinUAE 2 10 April 2017 21:35
Hard Blits under intuition & Gif To "struct BitMap" converter krabob Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 15 September 2014 17:25
ClassicWB (FULL) error: "ToolsDaemon could'nt find Workbench window!" andersbm project.ClassicWB 1 05 October 2013 17:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:29.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16189 seconds with 14 queries