English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 21 April 2006, 21:15   #1
zardoz
Zone Friend

Beginning Amiga programming in C++

Just curious, but I wonder how easy it would be for me to get up and running with a C++ compiler in workbench (I program VC++ by trade). Which development environment is the most sophisticated? Are there libraries out there like MFC?

I suppose the Workbench application model is different from Windows; are there APIs for messaging, threads and graphics?

Ta.
Old 22 April 2006, 00:43   #2
DopPie
Zone Friend

No MFC is available. You have to assemble your GUI in code just like in the old days.

As for compilers you could use HiSoft C++. I found it had a nice IDE and makes the learning curve less steep than other compilers.

You could also do crosscompiling using AmiDecCpp. But that won't help you debugging.
Old 27 April 2006, 22:23   #3
bburtonpa
Amiga user since 1985

I'm also a professional programmer and actually worked as a consultant on a number of Amiga projects back in the early nineties. IMHO, one of the things that the Amiga has always lacked was an IDE like VC. As for MFC, I started a project many years ago (1995) to port the MFC interface to Amiga. It's not that hard to do, but the lack of a decent C++ compiler at the time made it a effort in futility.

As for a good C++ compiler for the Amiga, check AmiNet for GCC. I think the last complete version they have 2.95. Also, do a search for GeekGadgets. I think Back2Roots still has the old GG files on their FTP site. Last time I checked, you could create GCC 3.3x using their guide/files. WARNING: Some knowledge of unix/linux build environments is required.