English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 November 2021, 10:22   #221
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 45
Posts: 9,379
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzza View Post
Damn
If you’re able to try the floppy version it could be useful to know if that works.
Problem found : It's cache related !

I did this to fix the problem :

Set nocache on the CLI

then loaded the game demo.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 November 2021, 14:04   #222
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 200
On the real thing, scanlines!!!
030/50 64MB


[ Show youtube player ]
VincentGR is offline  
Old 19 November 2021, 15:34   #223
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 5,138
Impressive how long you stay alive by doing absolutely nothing.
gimbal is offline  
Old 19 November 2021, 16:15   #224
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 200
It's a Jedi thing.
VincentGR is offline  
Old 19 November 2021, 17:40   #225
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 43
Posts: 1,745
HD version works on EC030, no need to disable cache

But enemy shoots seems a bit fast IMO.

Disk version also works right now too
haynor666 is offline  
Old 19 November 2021, 18:58   #226
skan
Dream Merchant

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: VTVNVM
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzza View Post
I had created a tool that allowed you to change everything - you could redo all graphics, music, maps and enemy behaviour and then have it output a completely different game.
Like Jim Power MSDOS ?
skan is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 09:39   #227
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 420
@Muzza

For world 4, do you plan to integrate the animation of the gears (it is not present on the PC version)?



Your work is a pleasure to test.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 21:09   #228
apex
Registered User
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 644
This version will make history on the AMIGA.
apex is offline  
Old 23 November 2021, 07:43   #229
Muzza
Registered User

Muzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
For world 4, do you plan to integrate the animation of the gears (it is not present on the PC version)?

So far as I can tell, the artwork does not exist to animate them.
If an artist wanted to create the additional tiles for the animation, I'd certainly be willing to implement it, but I'd also have to see what kind of performance impact it has.



I probably should say that I need to go back and do World 2 first!
Muzza is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 17:34   #230
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 5,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post

For world 4, do you plan to integrate the animation of the gears (it is not present on the PC version)?
Wow, I never got as far as world 4 in the PC version. The lack of animation is the least grievous change actually. It looks bland in general, they changed the futuristic looking purple for a boring grey stone look. Why. Just... why.

And I had to look ahead... the end of game boss got an even worse treatment.
gimbal is offline  
Old 02 December 2021, 22:07   #231
Muzza
Registered User

Muzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 210
It's the weakest looking world in both versions IMHO. I always thought the red and purple bricks of the original were garish and ugly (compared to the amazing outdoor scenes of World 1). I'm not even sure what they are supposed to be. In the future, bricks are purple?
Muzza is offline  
Old 03 December 2021, 16:13   #232
apex
Registered User
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 644
If you make them purple, they will be purple in the future, lol.
apex is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 10:59   #233
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 420
Note: this is not a request but just a question of technical possibility.

In your opinion, do you have enough margin left to add a background with // instead of black backgrounds without slowing everything down (level 1 for example) ?
Zarnal is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 11:12   #234
Muzza
Registered User

Muzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 210
What does // mean?
Muzza is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 13:03   #235
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 6,418
parallax
jotd is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 23:27   #236
Muzza
Registered User

Muzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 210
A simple repeating parallax background in the caves would probably be possible, but it may increase the chance of dropped frames during the boss fight. Perhaps the biggest problem would be the palette. The parallax sprites would have to share the palette with the player sprites 15 colours, which would not be ideal.
Muzza is offline  
Old 08 January 2022, 21:46   #237
Apollon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: NRW/Germany
Posts: 19
is there anything new about the game?
Apollon is offline  
Old 09 January 2022, 05:27   #238
Muzza
Registered User

Muzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 210
World 2-1 is complete (the one with the swimming section) and world 2-2 is partially done.
Recently I've mostly been looking at adding parallax to this world. Neither the PC nor Amiga version had parallax on these levels but the Amiga version did have a pulsing red patterned background which is missing on the PC. This means some parts of these levels had a boring black background in my conversion.
I could have just added the same red pulsing background, but I thought I'd see if I can add some parallax like the Mega Drive version (Universal Soldier). Unfortunately I don't have free hardware sprites (*) in these section as I did for the spaceship sections, so an alternative approach was needed.
I've gone with blitting a single parallax plane using a mask to only blit in the areas where the background shows through. A single plane is a little limiting (only allows for 2 colours) so I'm going to try and combine it with a copper gradient effect.
It may not make it in to the release if I either don't like the look or if the blitter impact results in frames being dropped. But as before, I'll release a version when I've finished both the World 2 levels.

(*) technically I do I have free hardware sprites, but due to all the Amigas caveats when it comes to sprites, trying to use them would result in palette problems and also the inability to correctly place the parallax sprites behind the playfield whilst keeping the player and weapon sprites in front of the playfield.
Muzza is offline  
Old 09 January 2022, 09:11   #239
aros-sg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 119
Do you know that you can get hardware parallax 6+2, 6+1, 7+1 planes if the game level and sprites do not need full 256 color palette? You cannot get independant horizontal scrolling for the parallax layer, so if there's no memory for preshifted background (normally for a repeating pattern that should be possible if you can repeat it vertically with the copper) you would still need to blit, but at least not mask blit.
aros-sg is offline  
Old 09 January 2022, 09:22   #240
Muzza
Registered User

Muzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 210
Do you mean by repeating the palette into the next bitplane?
I had initially aimed for 7+1 using that approach, but the hardware sprites for the player and weapons pushed the number of colours over 128.
Muzza is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which ECS to AGA conversion worth playing? superturrican2 support.Games 8 16 December 2018 23:03
turrican,lotus etc aga version ??? why never done ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 6 24 July 2013 12:22
Best way to play Turrican 2 PC dos buckrogers Retrogaming General Discussion 17 24 October 2005 12:25
Turrican 2 AGA+HD fixed Ollibolli request.Old Rare Games 17 24 September 2002 04:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11579 seconds with 16 queries