English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 September 2013, 09:13   #1
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,323
A1000 kickstart adapter

Hey guys,

I've got DJBase's kickstart adapter and I've finally given it a try, but have not had much success yet. I followed the instructions and also looked at the original German article and everything should be in order, but I just can't get the machine to boot.

Some garbled output does appear on the screen briefly, but I never end up with the "insert disk"-screen, just black. I've tried with two ROM chips, 1.3 and 2.0 but neither boots. If I take the adapter out, revert the jumpers W2 and W4 back to the original state, and re-connect the DAUGCAS pin 17, the machine does boot to the "insert kickstart"-screen as before, so the machine itself is fine.

Is there anyone who has got the adapter to work? I could sure use some help or perhaps photos of how you have done the installation.


Thanks!
ajk is online now  
Old 19 September 2013, 11:14   #2
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
I don't have the device but I would suggest that you've made an error in converting the ROM images or there's a bad address pin somewhere.
Loedown is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 11:22   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,323
I have not made the ROMs myself, they are from an A500 and I suppose the other one from an A600 so that should not be the issue. The adapter seems fine visually but I suppose I can buzz it through with a multimeter later.

Any other ideas?
ajk is online now  
Old 19 September 2013, 12:46   #4
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Read this

http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=50087
Loedown is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 13:47   #5
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,323
Yep I've read that and probably all other Google search results in English (and German), but I can't find a single thread that would have, for example, photos of what it looks like when installed There was one on AmiBay but the A1000 motherboard was a different revision (without the daughterboard) so that didn't help much either.
ajk is online now  
Old 20 September 2013, 08:53   #6
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
I didn't see much either but it cannot be so difficult to install, address / data lines and some control switching. I am not overly familiar with the A1000, the whole load KS from disk irritated me.
Loedown is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1000 mod for permanent kickstart Jope Hardware mods 11 28 August 2018 16:49
looking for A1000 kickstart disk hgrob MarketPlace 14 22 June 2011 16:40
Kickstart for A1000 ? bebek Hardware mods 5 19 September 2010 07:18
Penicillin Kickstart disk for A1000? TjLaZer request.Apps 5 27 January 2009 00:38
need: Kickstart Disk for A1000 ToTalXS MarketPlace 1 05 June 2002 06:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10859 seconds with 13 queries