English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 June 2016, 02:05   #41
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
I uploaded test version 7 to http://blockyskies.com today (Boot ADF, HD Install)

Only two boring changes:
  • Own/Disown blitter - thanks @Asman
  • Fixed a small rendering glitch when running in WinUAE with fastest possible CPU and low compatibility.

Unless I discover any other bugs, I am hoping this will be the last test release. (Unless I get some help getting a CD32 test release done).

With level development well progressed I am hoping the full release will be ready in a few weeks.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 13 June 2016, 03:37   #42
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
So thanks to @earok I played around getting the test version working on CD32/CDTV.

I uploaded an ISO to blockyskies.com, @earok succesfully tested the previous CD32 only version on his real CD32 (Thanks @earok ). The new CD32/CDTV test version is untested on real hardware.

Now I badly want a real CD32.



*drool*
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 13 June 2016, 16:47   #43
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
I uploaded test version 7 to http://blockyskies.com today (Boot ADF, HD Install)
Works fine here so far. One small thing is that when music is set to off the volume don`t fade to level 0 (off). Instead it fades to level 1 (guessing) what can be heard.
daxb is offline  
Old 14 June 2016, 00:56   #44
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Works fine here so far. One small thing is that when music is set to off the volume don`t fade to level 0 (off). Instead it fades to level 1 (guessing) what can be heard.
Thanks testing for me. I hadn't noticed that sound thing. Which configuration are you running with ?
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 14 June 2016, 10:10   #45
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,916
A1200 040 AGA 3.1 with hifi.
daxb is offline  
Old 14 June 2016, 10:18   #46
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
A1200 040 AGA 3.1 with hifi.
I think I can see what was wrong. Was it just playing a constant sample ? Or was the music still actually playing ?
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 14 June 2016, 10:27   #47
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
Was it just playing a constant sample ?
This. Sorry, should had mention it.
daxb is offline  
Old 14 June 2016, 10:32   #48
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
This. Sorry, should had mention it.
Excellent, yeah what was happening was the player I am using (P6112) has a variable you can use to set the volume. The problem was when the volume got to zero I stopped calling the play routine (so when you re-enable the music it starts where it left off). But this meant that the final volume adjustment was not made by the play routine (leaving it at #2 or #1 depending on the thing that caused the fade).

It's lucky you noticed this, because after spending some time paying closer attention to the sounds on real hardware made me realise that there was an occasional glitch in my sound effects playback which I have now fixed, so double thanks
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 14 June 2016, 16:58   #49
spud
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 256
I tried the HD install version on my A1200/030 but with the sound muted as it was late. From what I could see it all worked as it should. Great little game, but quite a mind bender - especially when you're tired.

Thanks for creating it!
spud is offline  
Old 15 June 2016, 00:49   #50
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
I tried the HD install version on my A1200/030 but with the sound muted as it was late. From what I could see it all worked as it should. Great little game, but quite a mind bender - especially when you're tired.

Thanks for creating it!
Thanks for the kind words.

I hope the final version isn't too hard. I still haven't beaten the final level myself yet
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 03:38   #51
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
OK so I am getting a bit bored with blocky skies and find myself thinking more about my next game than this one. So here is a pre-release final version for anyone that wants to test it before I call it done:

Boot Disk ADF

Hard Drive Install

This release has 9 normal levels and 1 "secret" level that is not unlocked through game play. See the source code to work out how to activate it

I would love any feedback re if the levels are too hard/too easy.

Level 9 is probably impossibly hard unless you have a photographic memory or learn the patterns. The rest of the levels are a mix of difficulties.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 19:15   #52
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,916
Music on/off works fine now. First stage is too easy because I came to the next. Did you thought about keyboard control?
daxb is offline  
Old 18 June 2016, 20:09   #53
Tsak
Pixelglass/Reimagine

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
Level 9 is probably impossibly hard unless you have a photographic memory or learn the patterns. The rest of the levels are a mix of difficulties.
This ain't a good indicator. I mean if you (the developer) find last level impossible, then it's gonna be x1000 for others. A rule of thumb is to make the game finishable by casual players. As for difficulty in general I think the best idea is to include an easy, normal and harcore mode, so one can adjust difficulty depending on his own skill.
Tsak is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 00:55   #54
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsak View Post
This ain't a good indicator. I mean if you (the developer) find last level impossible, then it's gonna be x1000 for others. A rule of thumb is to make the game finishable by casual players. As for difficulty in general I think the best idea is to include an easy, normal and harcore mode, so one can adjust difficulty depending on his own skill.
I found that the harder I made the levels the more fun they were, so I kept making them harder

I probably went too far with level 9, but time will tell.

I'm more interested if the mid range levels are too hard. The game is designed so you can keep banging away at a level until you complete it, then you can move on to the next one.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 18:01   #55
spud
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 256
Is it me or are both those .lha files corrupt?
spud is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 18:09   #56
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,916
The hard drive install archive worked for me.
daxb is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 19:10   #57
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,007
Thanks Man!
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 21:30   #58
Tsak
Pixelglass/Reimagine

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
I found that the harder I made the levels the more fun they were, so I kept making them harder
It's a classic game developer's trap
Tailoring the game's difficulty according to your own skill. The problem is that compared to any other normal player, you already know the level design, enemy and items placement, traps, the best solutions to any level trial and on top of that, you're (supposed) to have played each level multiple times already.
So, it's a tough call to know where to draw the line... I have found myself in that predicament many times already


Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine9000 View Post
The game is designed so you can keep banging away at a level until you complete it, then you can move on to the next one.
Oh yes, I've neglected that! It's a good failsafe actually.
Tsak is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 23:02   #59
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
Is it me or are both those .lha files corrupt?
I test them with lha 2.12 on a real Amiga before I upload, and they worked ok for me.

The archives are created with a lha for unix, so I don't know if maybe they are slightly incompatible with some lha versions?

Which program did you use to try and extract them ?

Last edited by alpine9000; 19 June 2016 at 23:08.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 23:03   #60
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Music on/off works fine now. First stage is too easy because I came to the next. Did you thought about keyboard control?
I did think about keyboard control, then I saw that reading the keyboard is a pain, and all of a sudden keyboard control didn't seem that important
alpine9000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reach For The Skies lordofchaos Games images which need to be WHDified 12 15 March 2021 21:55
Workbench backdrop is blocky and jagged Leandro Jardim support.Apps 2 24 May 2013 16:17
Blocky ? blade002 support.Hardware 8 18 May 2006 15:48
Reach for The Skies manual Fred the Fop request.Old Rare Games 0 24 January 2003 22:05
Reach For The Skies manual Fred the Fop request.Old Rare Games 1 19 January 2003 14:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10626 seconds with 15 queries