English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 27 December 2021, 14:29   #1
pubzombie

Pi Emulation advice - used to original hardware

Hi all, happy holidays, hope you all having a great time.
I have just built my first raspberry pi. I have wireless keyboard and both wired/wireless Xbox controller.
I’m going to set it up as a pihole next to the router but also connect it to the tv in the front room.
I have very little experience of emulation I usually use my original A1200 & 500.
Just reaching out to ask what emulator you would suggest that is easy to set up and run for a big screen tv? I was looking at Pimiga originally..
Best wishes,
Thanks for your time.
Pub
Old 28 December 2021, 02:26   #2
fxgogo
Also known as GarethQ

If you are going to be running Pihole while running your Amiga emulator, PiAmiga is not going to work. FS-UAE or Amiberry should work in that scenario. The latter might need a bit more work to get running. Also remember PiAmiga is not a pure Amiga emulator. As Chris says, it is an Amiga-like system which uses Scalos.
Old 03 January 2022, 12:09   #3
pubzombie

Thank u
Will look into the others.
Just ordered a large so card so will be able to fit multiple emus on it.
Amiberry looks very nice
Old 03 January 2022, 14:12   #4
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Not sure that is good idea, to run both on the same RPi.

Pi Hole and emulation should be on 2 different devices, first one never to shutdown if you plan on using it as DNS filter.

For emulation, just get one of already pre-made setups such as RetroPie, Lakka or Batocera. SD cards are fairly cheap and you can have multiple setup for the same RPi.
Old 04 January 2022, 01:10   #5
fxgogo
Also known as GarethQ

I have at least 7 pi’s doing different things. Yeah, it is an addiction…hehe
Old 05 January 2022, 14:29   #6
pubzombie

Quote:
Originally Posted by fxgogo View Post
I have at least 7 pi’s doing different things. Yeah, it is an addiction…hehe