English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2012, 22:33   #1
Bonifacy
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 14
Integer scaling not pixel-perfect in 2.3.3 and 2.4.0 beta 21

I do not get a pixel-perfect integer scaling. I have attached two screen shots (no scaling and 2x scaling comparison) and the logs for beta 22. The second one has clearly visible artifacts - the most prominent being a diagonal tear line.

The artifacts for 2.3.3 not exactly the same, but very similar (diagonal line included).

I have disabled all GPU controlling software and changed all possible settings in display driver to "Application Controlled". I have an ATI card.

Also a separate confirmation can be found here:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=299
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	workbench_1x.png
Views:	456
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	30936   Click image for larger version

Name:	workbench_2x.png
Views:	511
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	30937  
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (10.9 KB, 190 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (4.5 KB, 178 views)
Bonifacy is offline  
Old 18 March 2012, 09:08   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,865
This diagonal line appears in some filter settings, I have seen it myself but I am no sure where it comes from, probably texel center position is not calculated correctly but this is stuff I am not that familiar..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 March 2012, 10:11   #3
Bonifacy
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This diagonal line appears in some filter settings, I have seen it myself but I am no sure where it comes from, probably texel center position is not calculated correctly but this is stuff I am not that familiar..
OK.

It may be as well that pixel-exact integer scaling is not even an advertised feature of WinUAE, and this is in fact a request rather than a bug report

In any case, nevermind. A good combination of mildly smoothing filters should be enough for me and it may be even more visually pleasing than pixel-exactness.
Bonifacy is offline  
Old 28 July 2012, 13:09   #4
Keade
 
Posts: n/a
Hi,

I think I have the same problem with the latest non-beta.

I was using Powerstrip to set my CRT monitor @50Hz refresh rate, to have smooth scrolling. It was difficult to find the right V-sync settings (the legacy V-sync is too laggy for actual gameplay on my machine, and some other settings wouldn't work smoothly) but I could eventually get everything right, except for that line.
It's a pity because except this small line, the result was smooth and pixel perfect !

I could post all my settings and even capture and upload it (w/ FRAPS) it if it can be of any help.

Regards
 
Old 28 July 2012, 13:20   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,865
Test using latest beta. Include winuaebootlog.txt, config file and screenshot.

Do you mean low latency vsync mode isn't smooth? If yes, include low latency vsync winuaelog.txt.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 July 2012, 17:17   #6
Keade
 
Posts: n/a
I have just tried again with latest Beta 8.

1. I couldn't replicate the V-sync problem I had before, sorry about that !

2. I tried to actually record the diagonal line problem but I can't get it right. I will try my capture card later.
Anyway, I couldn't replicate the diagonal line problem with "integer scaling" alone (I can't make integer scaling work at all, probably wrong settings on my part), I had to use "automatic integer scaling" and the diagonal line can be seen live and on screenshots (see attached files). It's very hard to spot on screenshots (be sure to check the screenshots with 1:1 scale), so I have outlined it. It looks like the location of the line can vary over time.

Regards

edit: stupid typo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0029_Turrican II - The Final Fight_001_.png
Views:	1177
Size:	35.2 KB
ID:	32212   Click image for larger version

Name:	0029_Turrican II - The Final Fight_002_.png
Views:	415
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	32213   Click image for larger version

Name:	0029_Turrican II - The Final Fight_006_.png
Views:	496
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	32214  
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (9.6 KB, 157 views)
File Type: uae _turrican.uae (12.6 KB, 156 views)

Last edited by Keade; 28 July 2012 at 17:55.
 
Old 01 August 2012, 14:03   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keade View Post
I have just tried again with latest Beta 8.
It is same problem. I guess I need to take closer look. again.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 August 2012, 16:15   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,865
I finally tried to debug this but I can't duplicate it, I used exact same settings, exact same resolution and exact same game.

Possibly ATI only? (Going to test using 6970 later this week)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 August 2012, 16:22   #9
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I finally tried to debug this but I can't duplicate it, I used exact same settings, exact same resolution and exact same game.

Possibly ATI only? (Going to test using 6970 later this week)
FWIW, I had exactly the same problem when writing the D3D Scaler for ZXSpin - on ATI cards I got a diagonal line. Offsetting texture coordinates by 0.5 pixels fixed it, with no visible artifacts on nVidia/Intel cards.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 29 August 2012, 16:29   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
FWIW, I had exactly the same problem when writing the D3D Scaler for ZXSpin - on ATI cards I got a diagonal line. Offsetting texture coordinates by 0.5 pixels fixed it, with no visible artifacts on nVidia/Intel cards.
I already have 0.5 offsets like documented somewhere, really need to retest..

EDIT: Thanks for confirming that there can be differences between different manufacturers. Bleh..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 29 August 2012 at 19:20.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 September 2012, 16:33   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,865
AMD HD 6970 test done and issue confirmed.

Should be fixed in next beta.

Actually I just removed comments from "useless looking" 0.5 offsets that fixed the problem.. I thought D3D spec says texel positions should be exact same but real world, as usual, works differently..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 September 2012, 20:27   #12
Keade
 
Posts: n/a
Hi,

Confirming I was having the problem with an ATI card too (Radeon HD 5870).
Thanks for your (re)checking the issue and fixing it !
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1-1 pixel perfect screenshots menace support.WinUAE 26 10 July 2016 21:33
Integer Scaling FreakyDan support.WinUAE 3 12 May 2012 15:43
Integer scaling bug Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 2 14 February 2012 20:46
WinUAE Integer Scaling Crash Schlachtwerk support.WinUAE 1 11 November 2011 17:04
Pixel perfect conversions of amiga games for symbian s60 phones... grab 'em! keropi Retrogaming General Discussion 26 19 January 2006 20:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08940 seconds with 14 queries