English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 May 2021, 12:58   #181
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidgerry View Post
Ok installed on my actual Amiga and it worked straight away. AHI was already on there. Runs pretty smooth, but the screen size is a little weird, it's about 3/4 size, so the bottom is black, is that normal?
Cool, glad it's working for you now.

Is that the AGA version you are running?

Black border is because it is opening a PAL 320*256 screen but only writing out 320*200 pixels (you'll have to check your video display settings in AmiDuke). The best way is to use an NTSC screen mode (no black border at 320*200). You'll need the NTSC display driver in your monitor Devs and also update the AmiDuke ToolTypes.

ToolType closewb should be set for max performance
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 02 May 2021, 13:04   #182
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,021
What's going on with demo files? I have GOG version and still i have "demo1.dmo is a version 116 demo, but we want version 117" error message. What is newest version?
Solo Kazuki is online now  
Old 02 May 2021, 14:00   #183
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
What's going on with demo files? I have GOG version and still i have "demo1.dmo is a version 116 demo, but we want version 117" error message. What is newest version?
It doesn't support demo versions, only full atomic version supported....it says so in the readme
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 02 May 2021, 20:00   #184
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Cool, glad it's working for you now.

Is that the AGA version you are running?

Black border is because it is opening a PAL 320*256 screen but only writing out 320*200 pixels (you'll have to check your video display settings in AmiDuke). The best way is to use an NTSC screen mode (no black border at 320*200). You'll need the NTSC display driver in your monitor Devs and also update the AmiDuke ToolTypes.

ToolType closewb should be set for max performance
Yeah AGA (I imagine RTG would not work with my machine I think)

The whole NTSC PAL thing blows my mind a bit with games. I think my up-scaler turns it back to PAL anyways but hopefully the screen size will change.


That tootltype looked already enabled to me as there was no brackets around it.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 02 May 2021, 20:06   #185
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
It doesn't support demo versions, only full atomic version supported....it says so in the readme
But IT IS full Atomic Edition from GOG. I was talking about attract mode demo, not demo version of game.
Solo Kazuki is online now  
Old 02 May 2021, 20:27   #186
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 422
I don't think any of the Duke 3D source ports out there are demo compatible with the original DOS version of Atomic Edition. This is why they raised the demo version number.
BSzili is offline  
Old 02 May 2021, 23:16   #187
Patrickx1989
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Austria
Posts: 46
I've tried to get the music to play, in WinUAE but no success. I'm not really so good at this, can someone maybe make a "package" like BSzili did for Shadow Warrior to maybe make this a bit easier?
Patrickx1989 is offline  
Old 03 May 2021, 00:15   #188
mrv2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Slough
Posts: 79
Quote:
I've tried to get the music to play, in WinUAE but no success. I'm not really so good at this, can someone maybe make a "package" like BSzili did for Shadow Warrior to maybe make this a bit easier?
Works fine for me in WinUAE. This is my set-up (040, JIT, UAEGFX RTG, AHI set to Paula Fast). It does take a few seconds to run the demo, even with JIT on full and the ogg music drops the framerate when the level loads.

I've attached an image of my Duke3D folder.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	090.png
Views:	33
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	71786  
mrv2k is offline  
Old 03 May 2021, 00:53   #189
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
But IT IS full Atomic Edition from GOG. I was talking about attract mode demo, not demo version of game.
Oh okay, the attract mode demo plays as far as I know, I'll check my version. Are you talking about the RTG or AGA version?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 May 2021, 11:24   #190
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,021
AGA version. Thanks.
Solo Kazuki is online now  
Old 03 May 2021, 20:52   #191
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrickx1989 View Post
I've tried to get the music to play, in WinUAE but no success. I'm not really so good at this, can someone maybe make a "package" like BSzili did for Shadow Warrior to maybe make this a bit easier?
Heya Patrickx1989,

I've just finished a new Update Pack for my collection.

AmiDuke has been updated to the latest version that supports music; all configured and working perfectly

You have a PM.
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 May 2021, 08:18   #192
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,021
@DamienD

Is demo (i.e. attract mode) working in Your version?
Solo Kazuki is online now  
Old 04 May 2021, 12:01   #193
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
@DamienD

Is demo (i.e. attract mode) working in Your version?
As far as I remember; yes.

Just doing something on my laptop so can recheck in an hour or so.

I'm using the RTG version though and not AGA.
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 May 2021, 12:46   #194
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,021
It would be nice if You check it. Thanks in advance.
If Your version is working, i would check this data with AGA version.
Solo Kazuki is online now  
Old 04 May 2021, 13:42   #195
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,281
Just checked, yes all working perfectly here.

I see the attract mode where Duke is underwater etc.
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 May 2021, 13:51   #196
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Just checked, yes all working perfectly here.

I see the attract mode where Duke is underwater etc.
Cool, thanks for checking (really don't want to try and build the AGA version again)
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 May 2021, 13:53   #197
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Cool, thanks for checking (really don't want to try and build the AGA version again)
I didn't test the AGA version though; as I only use the RTG version

Anyway, I've sent Solo Kazuki a PM and uploaded my .HDF.

He can try the data contained within on the AGA version.
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 May 2021, 14:00   #198
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I didn't test the AGA version though; as I only use the RTG version

Anyway, I've sent Solo Kazuki a PM and uploaded my .HDF.

He can try the data contained within on the AGA version.
Oh okay, hopefully the old AGA version also works. I'm not really interested in doing AGA ports these days...

Update: Just tried the Aminet AGA version and the 'attract mode' plays at the start just fine?

Last edited by NovaCoder; 04 May 2021 at 14:07.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 May 2021, 19:17   #199
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,021
Ok, it's working, And I suppose what probably was cause of this problem. I just copy AmiDuke files to GOG version of game, which have many unnecessary (and it seems messing) files, e.g. mentioned demo1.dmo file (and as i remember correctly two more demo files).
Solo Kazuki is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke Nukem 3D cv643d support.Games 47 11 June 2017 09:00
Duke Nukem 3d suped up (eDuke32) vroom6sri Retrogaming General Discussion 46 21 June 2007 15:19
Duke Nukem 3D ported to Amiga Pyromania Amiga scene 67 10 June 2006 21:14
Duke Nukem 3D for Amiga available Bobic Amiga scene 3 28 July 2003 18:53
duke nukem on amiga? matthew request.Old Rare Games 6 29 April 2002 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10735 seconds with 15 queries