English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

Old 24 June 2008, 12:49   #1
Rashivanto

Amiga CNET BBS on E-UAE /Telnet - (Need Help with)

Had an account on here previously, but did not sign in enough, so was purged I guess... eh well, am here now... cannot forget my favorite computer

Anyway, I need some help with a project I am working on.

Years ago (over a decade), I was a sysop (among several others) on an Amiga BBS, running Cnet 3.05c. Had a very good, loyal user base... lots of fun Even though I love the internet, the old BBS's were something very nice... currently am building a website and one of the things I would like to do is set Cnet back up, so people can Telnet. In fact, already have it running through E-UAE on a Linux machine... the problem is Telnet. I think it would be nice to have a PHP or JAVA script, so people can Telnet right in from the website... so any advice as far as that goes would be helpful... but before I get to that point, I just need the basic Telnetting to work properly.

Am a bit rusty with my Amiga skills, but slowly, bits and pieces are resurfacing from the dusty far reaches of the back of my brain to the front... I'll probably need a bit of noob treatment here

E-UAE has Workbench 45.3 (OS 3.9) installed, with inet, using AWeb, working out of the box. I downloaded AmiTCP_tnserv.lha from Aminet... but really have no clue where to go from here...

If anyone can help guide me through this, I would be very grateful... for starters, if I can just Telnet into Cnet from another comp on my network, this would be good

Should note that although I used Telnet a bit here and there years ago to visit other sites, I have never operated a Telnet server, so know basically nothing about it...