English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 June 2012, 11:14   #1
thevoice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 142
FS-UAE: strangeness with an whdload install

hi,

yesterday i stumbled over something in fs-uae which i call at least strange.

the scenario:

i installed a few whdload games from scratch which i lost due to a hdd failure.
for the sake of easier disk handling, i did the installs with winuae (2.42beta series) running under wine in a kubuntu 12.04 amd64 environment.

both winuae and fs-uae share a 3.1 workbench setup mounted as a hd from a directory.

the problem:

i installed ingrid's back inside winuae and everything go smooth so far.
then i switched over to fs-uae, and the slave complains about 2 files (Menu,picproc) are write protected.
actually the are also read protected and delete protected. neither using protect in a shell or from within directory opus let me change those protection bits.
so back to winuae and test it there. whoops neither whdload nor winuae complains about write protected files.

so i compressed the installed game with lzx in winuae, switched back to fs-uae and decompressed the .lzx archive over there. and guess what, no cpmplaints about the 2 offending files anymore.

as a 3rd and last test i installed the game from within fs-uae and there is also no complains.

not that this is a showstopper or something, but at least its a weird behaviour.


i will upload the whdload installer and the diskimage into the zone.
maybe someone want to check it out. as i can reproduce it 100% on my machine.
thevoice is offline  
Old 27 June 2012, 15:19   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,873
Hi, FS-UAE does not use the same mechanism as WinUAE for storing Amiga file names and metadata, but it is possible that there is a bug when _UAEFSDB.___ is present which causes FS-UAE to not initialize file permissions.

The file _UAEFSDB.___ is probably created when the game is installed by WinUAE, and you could try to just delete this file before starting FS-UAE. -And I will check later whether there is a bug related to the presence of _UAEFSDB.___.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 June 2012, 15:28   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,996
By default WinUAE stores protection flags, comment and original filename to NTFS alternate stream (with original file or directory), __UAEFSB is only used if manually enabled or filesystem does not support alternate streams.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 June 2012, 19:04   #4
thevoice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 142
i just did the install again while making sure uaefsdb is disabled in winuae.
also i deleted all existing uaefsdb files. unfortunately still the same result.
thevoice is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Populous install on cwb or a1200 3.1 UAE Pipeline79 project.WHDLoad 4 05 March 2013 14:41
FS-UAE - Unregistered WHDLOAD : WHDLOAD.KEY - FIX Neil79 support.FS-UAE 14 29 January 2013 22:34
Mount CD on fs-uae OSX to install OS3.9 elowan support.FS-UAE 28 14 January 2013 16:17
Install Workbench3.1 E-UAE Mac OS popto support.OtherUAE 6 08 August 2011 14:06
SFS install in win UAE....again asm1 support.Hardware 11 28 March 2009 11:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06941 seconds with 13 queries