English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.AmigaOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2023, 17:51   #1
pngcan
Registered User
 
pngcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 81
AmigaDos Help Needed

Hello friends
I am trying to create a small loader project file for a game I created.
I need it to check how much Chip Ram is available as the game requires a 2mb Chip Ram Amiga. I used to be pretty proficient with AmigaDos some 20 - 25 years ago but alas I am just relearning it all again now in my retirement.
This is what I have:
Assign -----etc
Avail chip
If count GT 1048576
Echo "2mb Amiga Model"
Wait 2
(game load file)
Else
Echo "Sorry, the game requires a 2mb Chip Ram Amiga to Play"
Wait 3
Quit
End If
It works fine on my 1200 being it has 2mb chip ram, but when I go in and change the 1mb to over 2mb in line 3 to test it still loads the game, it should go to the Else and indicate it needs 2mb chip ram and quit, but it does not.
What am I doing wrong here? Thanks in advance for any help
Paul
pngcan is offline  
Old 23 February 2023, 19:13   #2
Nor Bert
Norbert
 
Nor Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Poland
Posts: 122
You didn't specify how the numerical value was passed to "count"
Nor Bert is offline  
Old 23 February 2023, 22:53   #3
paul1981
Registered User
 
paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 419
Assign blah...
IF VAL `C:AVAIL CHIP` NOT GT 1048576
"Sorry, the game requires a 2mb Chip Ram Amiga to Play"
Wait 3
Quit
EndIF
Echo "2mb Amiga Model"
Wait 2
(game load file)

Alt and that top left key on the Amiga (below escape) for those reverse apostrophes.
paul1981 is offline  
Old 23 February 2023, 23:01   #4
pngcan
Registered User
 
pngcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul1981 View Post
Assign blah...
IF VAL `C:AVAIL CHIP` NOT GT 1048576
"Sorry, the game requires a 2mb Chip Ram Amiga to Play"
Wait 3
Quit
EndIF
Echo "2mb Amiga Model"
Wait 2
(game load file)

Alt and that top left key on the Amiga (below escape) for those reverse apostrophes.
Ahhh, of course Paul, Val instead of count, as Nor Bert indicated I didn't specify how Avail goes to count, don't need to that with the Val command. Thanks kindly friend.
pngcan is offline  
Old 23 February 2023, 23:47   #5
paul1981
Registered User
 
paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 419
No trouble at all. VAL is part of IF, it just tells IF to expect a numerical value for the comparison (GT in your case).
paul1981 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaDos Hockmiester New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 April 2013 08:01
AmigaDOS manual amiga request.Other 5 28 November 2009 23:34
AmigaDOS scripts lloyd Coders. General 2 22 November 2004 19:47
AmigaDOS Swordlord New to Emulation or Amiga scene 28 05 March 2004 23:31
AmigaDOS help BippyM Amiga scene 1 08 July 2003 23:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:26.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07174 seconds with 15 queries