English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2020, 10:06   #1
LeCaravage
Registered User

LeCaravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: AmigaLand
Posts: 322
Mega Typhoon minimum config

Hi,
I tried Mega Typhoon on my Amiga 500 (1Mb Boobip Chip Ram + 1,5Mb Fake Fast) but the game refuses to start.
Tried on WinUAE and the game refuses also, the only working configuration is A1200.
The game is tagged as OCS/ECS on Lemon.
Did I miss something ? Is it an AGA game only ?
LeCaravage is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 10:25   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 6,304
game needs "mathtrans.library" which is in "libs" subdir

assign LIBS: LIBS add

and the game will start on A500 ECS. Just tested here on winuae (A600 kick 3). Without it, it just prints a text and quits silently.

Last edited by jotd; 27 December 2020 at 11:17.
jotd is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 10:33   #3
LeCaravage
Registered User

LeCaravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: AmigaLand
Posts: 322
@jotd : Strange way to make things. The screen is totally black and dl stop but amigados is still running (the disk clicks goes on).
Many thanks for your help.
LeCaravage is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 11:17   #4
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 6,304
so not solved?
jotd is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 12:00   #5
LeCaravage
Registered User

LeCaravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: AmigaLand
Posts: 322
added the command in startup-sequence :

assign LIBS: LIBS add

same pb.

A cool guy sent me a working ADF btw.
LeCaravage is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 12:02   #6
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 6,304
ah yeah, having a working disk can help too
jotd is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 01:51   #7
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 655
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeCaravage View Post
A cool guy sent me a working ADF btw.
I think that's the one :
Code:
Mega_Typhoon_(1996-Islona) [1MB with Kick1.3 or 1.5MB on Kick2.0].zip
Unlike the TRSI versions, that one works on my miggy. So thank you "anonymous" hacker for building that 1 MB chip 1.3 KS compatible version .
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 19:23   #8
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
I had this kind of problem a long time ago ( CRX version ). In fact, on the version I had, the cracktro was only in AGA. Not great on OCS but works with A1200.

Note : this game works with only 512k ( at least first level, I didn't go further ) with add36k command.

Last edited by Zarnal; 08 October 2021 at 20:56.
Zarnal is online now  
Old 03 October 2021, 20:31   #9
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,687
As these issues are recurring for Mega-Typhoon (problems on many configurations, problems with trainer), I'm working on it to try to fix everything..
ross is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 20:38   #10
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,401
to run this game is enough copy mathrans.library in sys:libs if have old workbench 1.3. To me work on Workbench 1.3 and kick 1.3 of course. 1,5 MB of memory (1 MB chip RAM + 512k Slow fast).
Seiya is offline  
Old 04 October 2021, 09:38   #11
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,687
I have now a version that needs only one megabyte in every possible configuration, I will add a working trainer.

The game has quite stringent demands on memory (both in quantity and in fragmentation), but the problem for KS>1.x (or with 1MB chip) derive from a nasty memory leak in the original intro (it is just by chance that works with more memory..).

Also the available trainer is severely buggy (I wonder how it can work in some cases ...).

So, hopefully, I release a properly trained 100% version in a short time
ross is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 12:25   #12
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,687
Finally uploaded to the Zone!

It wasn't easy at all as there were several details that prevented it from working properly in different combinations of KS and memory
(there was a reason why some time ago I had started and not finished the job )

Now it should work in any machine with 1MB of total memory and any KS.

The ADF contains: the 'cracktro', a 100% working trainer, the original game_intro/slideshow and of course the game.

Enjoy!
ross is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 13:16   #13
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,434
Thx ross!
vulture is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 13:45   #14
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 655
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Thank you ross. It's nice being able to play this ahead-of-its-time shooter on a plain 1 MB A500.
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 16:02   #15
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 412
Thank you Ross, a good fix was needed !

DanyPPC is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 19:08   #16
retrogamer
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 305
Thanks ross

But is it possible to run the game with 512kb chip + 512kb slow?
retrogamer is offline  
Old 07 October 2021, 19:29   #17
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 655
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Now it should work in any machine with 1MB of total memory and any KS.
I would say : yes, you can .
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 08 October 2021, 15:42   #18
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Finally uploaded to the Zone!

It wasn't easy at all as there were several details that prevented it from working properly in different combinations of KS and memory
(there was a reason why some time ago I had started and not finished the job )

Now it should work in any machine with 1MB of total memory and any KS.

The ADF contains: the 'cracktro', a 100% working trainer, the original game_intro/slideshow and of course the game.

Enjoy!
the problem could be kickstart.

Mega Typhoon that i found in the tosec works only with kickstart 2.04, 512k Chip + 512k Slow Fast and chipset OCS.

Your Mega Typhoon works with kickstart 1.3, but the rest of configuration is the same.
Seiya is offline  
Old 08 October 2021, 16:38   #19
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
the problem could be kickstart.

Mega Typhoon that i found in the tosec works only with kickstart 2.04, 512k Chip + 512k Slow Fast and chipset OCS.

Your Mega Typhoon works with kickstart 1.3, but the rest of configuration is the same.
The problem is only partially the kickstart, or at least not directly (so much so that the original version works with 512+512 and KS1.x).
There are issues related to memory management, in the original intro/ slideshow code, in 'cracktro' integration, many sneaky in the trainer ...
So it is true that it can work in some configurations, but only for some specific parts.
There are some really nasty bugs because 'hidden' by chance.

The purpose was to make it work in ALL conditions

Check the executable files on the disk and you will find that they are all modified, plus a specific bootblock for the game.
ross is offline  
Old 08 October 2021, 17:03   #20
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 3,893
@ross: you're the best
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mega Typhoon Deconstruction mcgeezer Coders. Asm / Hardware 81 27 November 2020 01:13
Mega Typhoon ECS only? Photon HOL suggestions and feedback 8 16 April 2020 21:47
Working copy of Mega Typhoon ECS game? ImmortalA1000 request.Old Rare Games 9 04 February 2013 06:38
Mega Typhoon Trainer Version - Working! plasmatron request.Old Rare Games 1 03 July 2011 23:52
Mega Typhoon haynor666 HOL contributions 1 19 August 2008 00:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10498 seconds with 16 queries