English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2012, 18:35   #1
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,174
Scalos pens could not be allocated

Hiya:
I'm improving my Amikit conversion for 16 colors and no FPU. Now MorpheuZ works and yesterday I changed it to use Scalos. This is the message I have after booting:
4 of the pens defined in Scalos Palette prefs could not be allocated.

If I go to the Scalos prefs, in palette I had Allocated Pens 8/16, so I've loaded and saved Rebel's Scalos Palette.pre for 16 colors, so now it shows 16 out of 16 allocated, but booting it says now that 12 of the pens could not be allocated.

I have to say that it shows right the images or wallpapers with 16 colors; it's just that message after booting the problem I've got.

And... if I change the screen mode to use for example 256 colors I don't have that message.

Any Guru or Shaman with an idea please?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 05 November 2012, 20:58   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,734
So it says that number of colors minus four pens are already allocated when Scalos starts. The first four colors are allocated by Intuition, so I would say that all pens are already allocated when Scalos starts, it just does not attempt to allocate the first four because they would fail anyway.

You should try to find a program which is run before Scalos and which allocates pens. FullPalette comes to mind, but this is only an example, I don't know it Amikit contains FullPalette.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 November 2012, 12:34   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,174
Thanks Thomas. Yes, I've got FullPalette, and even repeating to load FPPrefs just after Scalos it tells about the pens missing. I don't understand that the Scalos palette says that all the pens are allocated and it complains at the beginning.

Edit: I've just tried in the original Amikit, changing to use just 16 colors in monitors and changing to Scalos. It's exactly the same behaviour. A message about pens not allocated. I just would delete that message from the program, but I'm not good with that.

So it seems some kind of bug of Scalos when using 16 colors ?¿

Edit: I have to say that some Scalos Images seem to need those pens, like in the Scalos prefs, patterns, the small images of the backdrops in "Preview", but as I've said wallpaper, windows backdrops, etc they are right remapped


EDIT: It's FIXED. Don't ask me how. I copied again Scalos from Amikit and just changed Themes as I've got them remapped. Now I haven't got any request about pens. If I go to Scalos prefs, it shows pens allocated 0/16. The wallpapers and images are just like before.

Last edited by Retrofan; 08 November 2012 at 21:55.
Retrofan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scalos,what is it ??? leytond support.Apps 32 22 March 2009 23:33
Scalos vs. Workbench Akira support.Apps 11 18 March 2009 16:58
New Scalos version is out! Shoonay News 4 16 March 2009 15:59
Scalos 41.1 Frog News 3 27 August 2005 17:55
Scalos Darius support.Apps 8 03 August 2005 13:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07051 seconds with 13 queries