English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 November 2017, 22:03   #1
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
emufan can you please port this to Amiga!!?

Hey,

http://www.agidev.com/download/ Is it possible you could port this to the Amiga? With this tool we would be able to make all sort of adventure games like king quest, etc.

Please please please consider porting this! Please!
xboxown is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 01:28   #2
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Why not https://github.com/mmoreira2000/scummeditor ? Scumm>AGI. Well except I prefer the text input of AGI.

Or maybe:
https://github.com/AlbanBedel/scummc/wiki

Looks easy to port (famous last words).
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 02:40   #3
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
I agree 100%. EmuFan can you port scummEditor or ScummC or both or something? It would be super cool!

Hey grelbfarlk, are you not going to port the stuff you ported for MorphOS to Amiga 68k or you will not support Amiga 68k?

I am curious.
xboxown is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 02:54   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
I'm a bit lazy these days with the cross-compiling stuff

I did a quick test with scummc, without success:
Code:
bash-3.2$ CC=m68k-amigaos-gcc.exe CFLAGS="-DNDEBUG -noixemul" ./configure

Configuring ScummC on machine

Host system: cygwin_nt-6.1-wow64
Sources: /cygdrive/d/tmp/scummc-master
Compiler: m68k-amigaos-gcc.exe (gcc 3.4.0)
Unknown cpu: m68k
bash-3.2$
it does not recognize the cpu type. hmm.

#1) ah, simple check in the configure script *brb*
#2) it's just a check if big or little-endian stuff, fixed.
but now it wants bison tool, not included with the gcc I use. :/

#3) i will test with gcc 2.95.x - is a more complete package
#4) not a quick one , it seems. missing include files, undeclared and already declared stuff. :/

this will take some time and i have to look closer at the files, I cannot make any promisses.
but I will return to this.

Last edited by emufan; 07 November 2017 at 03:20.
emufan is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 03:11   #5
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
You are awesome emufan!! Thank you for even tackling it
xboxown is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 05:10   #6
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
I agree 100%. EmuFan can you port scummEditor or ScummC or both or something? It would be super cool!

Hey grelbfarlk, are you not going to port the stuff you ported for MorphOS to Amiga 68k or you will not support Amiga 68k?

I am curious.
MorphOS? The stuff I did was for WarpOS which are up on Aminet now-crappy though they may be.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 07:20   #7
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
Meaning i need either an a4000 with PPC or an over priced PPC Amiga to run this and have Amiga OS 4.x.

Again neither of these things will do for me as I am 100% an amiga 68k user. Is there no way you can por tthme to 68k amiga, please?
xboxown is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 23:54   #8
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Meaning i need either an a4000 with PPC or an over priced PPC Amiga to run this and have Amiga OS 4.x.

Again neither of these things will do for me as I am 100% an amiga 68k user. Is there no way you can por tthme to 68k amiga, please?
There are plenty of good guys out there turning out high-quality 68k software. There are very few doing it for WarpOS-which is the reason I started-and am failing at pretty badly. I tell you what, you convince Emufan or Arte to switch to WarpOS and I'll switch to 68k.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 08 November 2017, 23:56   #9
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
You know...you could release WarpOS and 68k version and AROS and MorphOS and MacOS at the same time. No reason to hit one platform exclusively. In the Amiga community we need to learn to support all platforms in one shot, especially when it comes to RTG stuff.
xboxown is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 01:47   #10
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
I wont do ppc stuff. it is already alot confusing to juggle with 3 gcc for 68k.
differnt compiler version, so many options I have no clue about.
sometimes i consider it as pure luck, if something builds

but one thing we could share at least, some guide how things got build.

in case the source code is not included with the release. for example:
version of crosscompiler, ./configure commandlines, makefiles

this may help in some way.
emufan is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 02:17   #11
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
I wont do ppc stuff. it is already alot confusing to juggle with 3 gcc for 68k.
differnt compiler version, so many options I have no clue about.
sometimes i consider it as pure luck, if something builds

but one thing we could share at least, some guide how things got build.

in case the source code is not included with the release. for example:
version of crosscompiler, ./configure commandlines, makefiles

this may help in some way.
Ok Xbone, then you have to convince Arte or HunoPPC then.

I agree emufan, luck (certainly not skill) is what keeps me going.

Definitely, even just yelling at a configure script for a night really slows me down, sharing makefiles I think is actually useful for me anyway.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 02:21   #12
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
I think it is a bit more difficult than convincing someone. We have limitation in Amiga 68k community and that is SDL 1.x restriction. if we can get SDL 2.x somehow into the Amiga 68k world then that would open so many doors it is not even funny.


Ones again what was the reason we don't have SDL 2.x?
xboxown is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 02:33   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
I think it is a bit more difficult than convincing someone. We have limitation in Amiga 68k community and that is SDL 1.x restriction. if we can get SDL 2.x somehow into the Amiga 68k world then that would open so many doors it is not even funny.


Ones again what was the reason we don't have SDL 2.x?
I think because nobody wanted SDL 2.x. A lot of SDL programs I've looked at can fall back to SDL 1.2. Other reason-and I'm probably really wrong here is SDL2 is mostly good for OpenGL stuff which options are few and far between, unless you mean software-GL, which in that case, why did you use OpenGL anyway? Also stuff that really requires SDL2 was fairly recent which means it probably would not run fast enough on Amiga anyway-again just my guess.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 02:43   #14
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
I think because nobody wanted SDL 2.x. A lot of SDL programs I've looked at can fall back to SDL 1.2. Other reason-and I'm probably really wrong here is SDL2 is mostly good for OpenGL stuff which options are few and far between, unless you mean software-GL, which in that case, why did you use OpenGL anyway? Also stuff that really requires SDL2 was fairly recent which means it probably would not run fast enough on Amiga anyway-again just my guess.
Ever more reason to fight against the waves of people saying not worth it, because it is backward compatible, blah. We need SDL 2 in Amiga even if the hardware have not catched up yet with those more powerful games like quake 3 or quake 4 or whatever. Eventually we will reach there and having SDL 2 ready until then is ever more essential.

But the last game engine you ported for WarpOS I see no reason why it will not work right now on vampire 2 or vampire 4 easily and what stopping from this port is the SDL 2.

So i think now having SDL 2 ported is now mandatory requirement to open huge doors for the Amiga.

i am addicted now to rtg stuff. Addicted! I need more rtg apps, more rtg games more...more...

EDIT by DH: If you would so wish to see this image click the link, but it's not really worth it. This image is simply of a stupid size that interferes with normal reading of this board and is unnecessary too.
https://image.shutterstock.com/z/sto...-684993514.jpg

Last edited by DH; 15 November 2017 at 18:04. Reason: Removed image because of stupendously ridiculous size
xboxown is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 03:10   #15
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Ever more reason to fight against the waves of people saying not worth it, because it is backward compatible, blah. We need SDL 2 in Amiga even if the hardware have not catched up yet with those more powerful games like quake 3 or quake 4 or whatever. Eventually we will reach there and having SDL 2 ready until then is ever more essential.

But the last game engine you ported for WarpOS I see no reason why it will not work right now on vampire 2 or vampire 4 easily and what stopping from this port is the SDL 2.

So i think now having SDL 2 ported is now mandatory requirement to open huge doors for the Amiga.

i am addicted now to rtg stuff. Addicted! I need more rtg apps, more rtg games more...more...
Which last game engine I ported? Exult? You know there are two other 68k ports of it already? And I didn't use SDL2. My liege and I haven't even talked about SDL2 yet, maybe someday. We sort of talked about adding GL to SDL 1.2 (as in I cried about about it saying how totes awesome it would be if we used tinygl->warp3d... somehow).

And a lot of retro folks are not really into SDL2 since it "changed everything." And without 3D accelerated hardware what good is it really-which would be really good for Voodoo3 equipped Amiga, if it worked and if it was actually fast enough to run anything.

The real wizards like Cowcat wouldn't even bother with SDL2 they'd just put on their hacker outfit, [goggles, fingerless gloves, bandana] and just use TinyGL and AHI. Most Amigans scoff at SDL generally not just v2.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 05:25   #16
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 589
Something about how you talk is addicting. I don't know what it is.

I am talking about porting this one http://aminet.net/package/game/actio...dasyndrome-wos to 68k but you used SDL 2.0 to port it warpOS as an example of many!
xboxown is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 13:57   #17
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Something about how you talk is addicting. I don't know what it is.

I am talking about porting this one http://aminet.net/package/game/actio...dasyndrome-wos to 68k but you used SDL 2.0 to port it warpOS as an example of many!
No it's just SDL 1.2.6, not SDL 2. Emufan is already working on it.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 14:29   #18
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
I am talking about porting this one http://aminet.net/package/game/actio...dasyndrome-wos to 68k
Is there anything wrong with the current 68k version?

http://aminet.net/package/game/actio/BS_68k

I've tested on WinUAE a bit, but not played it all the way through...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
No it's just SDL 1.2.6, not SDL 2. Emufan is already working on it.
Duplication of effort can be a bit of a problem, there are a few SDL games on 68k that have been ported by at least two different authors.
I don't think Lorence Lombardo is even posting his more recent stuff on Aminet anymore, so it is easily missed, like this Pang clone:

http://geocities.ws/lorylomb/Pang_68k.lha

Or this GUI version of MikMod:

http://geocities.ws/lorylomb/mikmod326_sdl.lha
James is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 14:46   #19
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303


I admit I didn't look for a 68k version either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Is there anything wrong with the current 68k version?

http://aminet.net/package/game/actio/BS_68k

I've tested on WinUAE a bit, but not played it all the way through...



Duplication of effort can be a bit of a problem, there are a few SDL games on 68k that have been ported by at least two different authors.
I don't think Lorence Lombardo is even posting his more recent stuff on Aminet anymore, so it is easily missed, like this Pang clone:

http://geocities.ws/lorylomb/Pang_68k.lha

Or this GUI version of MikMod:

http://geocities.ws/lorylomb/mikmod326_sdl.lha
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 14:50   #20
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 665
Another game to porting?

Source code of ZX Spectrum & MSX2 game ‘The Sword of Ianna’ available on Github:

http://www.vintageisthenewold.com/so...ble-on-github/

Aladin is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10947 seconds with 16 queries