English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 March 2009, 01:48   #1
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,134
Indivision OCS/ECS under development

Hi all,

I was trolling http://icomp.de/indexe.htm and noticed the following news...

Indivision ECS under development
The next version of our popular flickerfixer will be made for Amiga models with OCS- and ECS-chipset. Since the older chipsets only work with a colour depth of 12 bits (4096 colours), we're expecting a slightly lower price for this model. It is meant to work with the Amiga models A500, A600(**), A1000, A2000 and A3000. All known technical data will presumably be in Indivision ECS: All screenmodes will be output with more than 60Hz, and the S-Hires modes of the ECS chipset will be displayed in full resolution. Indivision ECS will be installed on the socket of the Denise chip of the target computer. We're expecting the first prototype in about three months.


Anyone got any inside info on this as regards performance etc ? The news item was dated 28.3.09


My God!!, i am gonna be broke for the rest of my life... so weak... so weakkk
kipper2k is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 01:55   #2
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,943
Good news.

If you wish to use the separate forthcoming product, Indivision ECS on your Amiga 600, you will need the A603 Memory Expansion first to connect it to the A600.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 02:33   #3
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
I'm only looking forward to the CHAMELEON CARTRIDGE for the C64...
That shit is NEXT LEVEL!
Akira is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 06:39   #4
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
http://www.jschoenfeld.com/news/news137_e.htm
rkauer is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 10:39   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,796
Any photo's of the unit yet?

I'm curious to see how it would work in conjunction with the A603.

The digital video data lines are not available on the A600 trapdoor memory expansion connector, so how does it work?
alexh is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 13:26   #6
pmc
gone
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
@ Akira. Seconded. I want a Chameleon too. Like a 1541 Ultimate but with extras - should be cool.
pmc is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 15:06   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,796
Any price on the Indivision ECS scandoubler?
alexh is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 15:27   #8
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Any photo's of the unit yet?

I'm curious to see how it would work in conjunction with the A603.

The digital video data lines are not available on the A600 trapdoor memory expansion connector, so how does it work?
Hmm, mabbe it has an expansion cable that goes to Denise, which i'm assuming is not the same DIP package as the 500 (Just a guess)
kipper2k is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 15:39   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hmm, mabbe it has an expansion cable that goes to Denise, which i'm assuming is not the same DIP package as the 500 (Just a guess)
I think that too , so there is only one indivision ECS version....
keropi is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 16:03   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,796
Latest thinking (posts by Jens, Toni Wilen, myself) is the Indivision ECS is not a standard scandoubler but might have its own re-implemented Denise inside the FPGA.

Easily do-able given the availability of MiniMig source code and the fact that Jens announced his own re-implementation of ECS in the form of Clone-A.

I wonder how good (compatible) it is?
alexh is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 18:08   #11
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,134
So i guess this begs the question,

is this going to be an "all in one" A500/a600 piece of kit with mabbe an optional adapter or will you have to buy one for both the A500 and A600 ?. It appears to be touted as for both.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 20:06   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,796
There will be only one flavour of Indivision ECS but you will need an A603 trapdoor RAM expansion to use it with A600.

They are internal so if you have both an A500 and an A600 and do not want to have to keep unscrewing your case to swap them over then yes you will need two!
alexh is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 00:11   #13
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 42
Posts: 176
Damn damn damn, yet another thing to save up for!!!
I was all like coooool when indivision AGA came out, just when I nearly had enough for it the CD32 version comes out, now this one! I can't not buy it, the A600 was and still is my favourite machine despite it's lower spec!!!
rave is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 00:23   #14
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,689
Interesting observation, Alexh... Very interesting, particularly if they're starting to reimplement stuff in FPGA.

(Off topic: any news on clone-A?)
chiark is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 01:03   #15
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 9,768


this is awesome cool!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 14:02   #16
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,064
I haven't seen photos yet. But, I read that to use on the A603 you need to lose the internal floppy. Hopefully someone can find a hack/fix for this.
adolescent is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 14:10   #17
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent View Post
I haven't seen photos yet. But, I read that to use on the A603 you need to lose the internal floppy. Hopefully someone can find a hack/fix for this.

Can I ask where you read this and maybe post a linky

Many Thanks
TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 15:00   #18
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
Can I ask where you read this and maybe post a linky

Many Thanks
TC
jens wrote that on the amiga.org news item comments IIRC
keropi is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 15:07   #19
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
jens wrote that on the amiga.org news item comments IIRC

Cheers my friend, I'll have a good read of that.

I take it if it's the case then the Indivision ECS will be supplied with a Floppy port ignore dongle too then.

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 01 April 2009, 15:29   #20
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,134
That would suck to lose the internal floppy. i cant see a hack/fix cos if it could be made with the floppy intact then it probably would be.
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS and OCS antonvaltaz Amiga scene 17 Today 15:18
[WTB] Indivision AGA (for CD32/4000) + Indivision ECS Seaside MarketPlace 3 15 March 2012 23:03
An ASM Environment for ECS/OCS development arpz Coders. General 18 05 November 2011 16:57
Trading my Indivision AGA for an Indivision ECS 8bitbubsy Swapshop 3 12 May 2011 00:02
Has anybody used the new Indivision OCS/ECS Flicker Fixer barney Amiga scene 24 11 January 2010 19:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11411 seconds with 13 queries