English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 June 2021, 00:12   #1
Ulysses13
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Surrey / UK
Posts: 102
Question AmigaOS & lha

OK, so this is probably a stupid question, but why doesn't Workbench/AmigaOS include the LHA command? It seems so fundamental and yet it isn't part of the default system.

Even the new OS3.2 doesn't include it, or a version of it - meaning everyone has to track it down and install it, as it's such a requirement to get going.

Is there a reason that it isn't part of AmigaOS? 3.2 even natively supports ADF files, so why not LHA?

Sorry, I was just curious - the reason is probably a very obvious one, perhaps a boring legal one...?
Ulysses13 is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 00:32   #2
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 537
Yes, legal.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 01:17   #3
XPD
Geek Kiwi

XPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Age: 45
Posts: 130
Its a 3rd party developed program, so belongs to someone else. Be nice if it had been integrated into Workbench....
XPD is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 10:31   #4
Ulysses13
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Surrey / UK
Posts: 102
Yes, would be good for them to work out how to integrate it, as it isn't a paid piece of software, no? Just needs goodwill from the creator I guess.

Or perhaps the Hyperion guys build their own so it's theirs - seeing as it is so vital.

Either way, feels like a massive omission from the OS - and a particularly weird one, as it creates a real barrier to getting set up.

The fantastic support for ADF shows how much of a difference it would make to be there out of the box.

Anyway, I'm sure they've thought of it.
Ulysses13 is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 21:58   #5
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 37
Posts: 1,846
I think the commodore developer disks came with LHArc as it used a PD license.
redblade is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[AmigaCD] The Strangers - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 24 06 October 2017 02:52
Unarchiving LHA & LZX files on Windows XP amigauser Amiga scene 58 29 September 2017 00:36
Abduction - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 4 04 June 2017 14:24
LHA Bootstrap Install for AmigaOS 1.x? djukon support.Other 2 18 May 2014 21:53
.lha/powerpacker woes & others! rave New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 10 February 2007 17:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06792 seconds with 13 queries