English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2021, 23:59   #1
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 239
Question Changing 68040 25 to 68040 33 on 603e plus

Hi all,

So I’m looking to upgrade a Phase 5 603e plus 68040/PPC card from the bog standard 68040 25 MHz CPU that’s on the card to a 33 MHZ CPU.
So what I think I can do is swap the 50 MHZ Oscillator for a 66 MHZ one and the CPU (25mhz) to the new 33mhz one.
Now considering this card also houses a built in SCSI adapter I cannot see any issues here as I’m not increasing the clock on the board beyond the theoretical limit of 66mhz.
I couldn’t see any threads on here about upgrading a 603e in this manner and every search on Google mentions phase 5 releasing a 68040 603e version at 25mhz only.
Oh yes I know you can upgrade these cards to an 060 and it probably only give me a small speed advantage if the 68040 can be upped. But hey I’ve got a spare 33mhz 68040 so why not give it a try?

Thoughts etc?

Cheers.
Jpor is offline  
Old 18 September 2021, 00:52   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,797
It is such an expensive card. And most 040's run so very very hot. I don't think I'd bother if it risked breaking the card.

Save up for the 060 conversion.

Out of interest what mask versions do you have on your 040's? (It is some of the the digits written in the top corner)

Later mask set 040's (e.g. L88M) run much cooler.
alexh is online now  
Old 18 September 2021, 02:26   #3
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
It is such an expensive card. And most 040's run so very very hot. I don't think I'd bother if it risked breaking the card.

Save up for the 060 conversion.

Out of interest what mask versions do you have on your 040's? (It is some of the the digits written in the top corner)

Later mask set 040's (e.g. L88M) run much cooler.
Don’t have the one to hand on the 25mhz one but on the 33mhz one I’ve got the following written on it:

XC68040RC33M

Top right corner;

02E31F
QEWC93398
MALAYSIA
Jpor is offline  
Old 18 September 2021, 14:06   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,797
E31F that's one of the first 0.8um ones so will run hot

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=223431&postcount=2
alexh is online now  
Old 19 September 2021, 00:14   #5
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
E31F that's one of the first 0.8um ones so will run hot

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=223431&postcount=2

I am planning on putting a heatsink and fan on it
Jpor is offline  
Old 19 September 2021, 10:21   #6
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,063
Alternatively....

Quote:
Upgrading an 040 to an 060:

Both the Cyberstorm PPC and the Cyberstorm MKIII boards allow the use of either a 68060 or a 68040 processor. Both processors are quite similar, with the exception that the 68060 runs on 3.3 volts instead of the 68040's 5 volts, and the 68040 uses a 2x clock signal instead of the 68060's 1x clock. The following outline shows how to upgrade a 25MHz 68040 board to a 50MHz 68060. Note that I have not actually tried this myself - I do not have an 040 chip!

1: Install the appropriate 68060 libraries. Copy both the 68060.library and the 68040dummy.library into SYS:LIBS. Delete (or remove) the existing 68040.library, then rename the 68040dummy.library to 68040.library. When finished, power down the Amiga.

2: Carefully remove the 68040 chip by gently levering it up with a small screwdriver. Avoid bending the pins.

3: Locate the voltage select jumper, in the centre of the 68040 socket. Move it to the 3.3 volt position by careful soldering. (see above).

4: Move Jumper No 5 (see above) to the 68060 default position.

5: Install the 68060 chip into the socket.
From here: Linky I can confirm it works, is a lot faster & cooler .

Last edited by Kin Hell; 19 September 2021 at 13:13.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 20 September 2021, 04:38   #7
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
Alternatively....



From here: Linky I can confirm it works, is a lot faster & cooler .
Okay. But mine is a A1200 Blizzard 603e 040/PPC card and not a A3000/4000 Cyberstorm card.

As I’ve explained I’m not after upgrading to an 060 from an 040, just looking to get a small upgrade speed with a spare 040
Jpor is offline  
Old 20 September 2021, 04:40   #8
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,304
It's kind of inconceivable to me that someone wants to monkey around with replacing an 25MHz 040 with a 33MHz 040 which is going to run even hotter when the 060 upgrade is available on a BlizzardPPC. That being said I have a couplefew 40MHz 040s from Warpengines I upgraded to 060 that I should sell, and they are at least the MC revision which don't run as terribly hot as the XC version.
In conclusion 68ks are a land of contrasts.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 September 2021, 17:37   #9
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpor View Post
Okay. But mine is a A1200 Blizzard 603e 040/PPC card and not a A3000/4000 Cyberstorm card.

As I’ve explained I’m not after upgrading to an 060 from an 040, just looking to get a small upgrade speed with a spare 040
LOL! - Had another blonde moment there didn't I. It's definitely summat to with getting 0ld0r....

However, take heed.

Whilst it might appear to be just a case of you swapping the CPU for the Faster part & change the relevant X-Tal to run the 040 @ it's suggested speed, it's not because of several factors.

I'd leave the 50Mhz X-Tal alone. That X-Tal plus a selection of soldered resistors give the PPC Chip is Multiplier & resultant CPU Speed. You could fry the PPC Chip if you do this by clocking it beyond a safe frequency..

As you have the + version, she has on board SCSI II. Most SCSI controllers don't like being overclocked. - If I understand correctly, overclocking from 25Mhz to 33Mhz will also overclock the SCSI Bus on these cards as well. Even if it appears to work without issue, over use & time, she just might loose her magic smoke because you fried the SCSI Logic too.

A 33Mhz 040 should give you around 23 MIPS over an 040 @ 25Mhz yielding approximately 19 MIPS. - 4 Million Instructions a Second more is not to be sniffed at when you're chugging away @ 19, but as already mentioned, is it worth the risk?

A dead 4 MIPS faster board is not worth as much as an original working board. For the small increase in performance in this Day & Age, I'd leave it alone.

At worst, swap it for a Newer part & run cooler at the same speed.

Last edited by Kin Hell; 20 September 2021 at 18:15.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 06:22   #10
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
LOL! - Had another blonde moment there didn't I. It's definitely summat to with getting 0ld0r....

However, take heed.

Whilst it might appear to be just a case of you swapping the CPU for the Faster part & change the relevant X-Tal to run the 040 @ it's suggested speed, it's not because of several factors.

I'd leave the 50Mhz X-Tal alone. That X-Tal plus a selection of soldered resistors give the PPC Chip is Multiplier & resultant CPU Speed. You could fry the PPC Chip if you do this by clocking it beyond a safe frequency..

As you have the + version, she has on board SCSI II. Most SCSI controllers don't like being overclocked. - If I understand correctly, overclocking from 25Mhz to 33Mhz will also overclock the SCSI Bus on these cards as well. Even if it appears to work without issue, over use & time, she just might loose her magic smoke because you fried the SCSI Logic too.

A 33Mhz 040 should give you around 23 MIPS over an 040 @ 25Mhz yielding approximately 19 MIPS. - 4 Million Instructions a Second more is not to be sniffed at when you're chugging away @ 19, but as already mentioned, is it worth the risk?

A dead 4 MIPS faster board is not worth as much as an original working board. For the small increase in performance in this Day & Age, I'd leave it alone.

At worst, swap it for a Newer part & run cooler at the same speed.
Thanks for the advice

I’m just wondering though how the 603e + with the 060 and overclocked boards cope when the 060 is overclocked to 66mhz? From your explanation above this shouldn’t be done either?
Jpor is offline  
Old 21 September 2021, 10:39   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,797
The BPPC has an option to have two oscillators and clock the 680x0 separately from the PPC. You'd definitely want to use this. Google for the details
alexh is online now  
Old 21 September 2021, 17:06   #12
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The BPPC has an option to have two oscillators and clock the 680x0 separately from the PPC. You'd definitely want to use this. Google for the details
That’s what I thought. Mine has 2 oscillators @ 50mhz top one I believe is the one used for the 040 CPU whilst bottom for the PPC.
I’m still tempted to overclocked the top with a 66mhz one and replace the 25mhz 040 with the 33mhz 040 that way it’s running to the clock on the CPU.
I’ve owned a couple of stanchu100 BPPC + cards with 060’s and PPCs clocked at 66.6mhz and they had no issues.
Unfortunately due to Brexit and the crap I’ve just gone through attempting to send something to Poland recently, I’m now getting things returned back to me after taking a failed trip to Polish customs with UPS for nearly 2 months
With no one here in the U.K doing this stuff then it’s something I’m considering.
Jpor is offline  
Old 25 September 2021, 11:34   #13
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpor View Post
Thanks for the advice

I’m just wondering though how the 603e + with the 060 and overclocked boards cope when the 060 is overclocked to 66mhz? From your explanation above this shouldn’t be done either?
Read closely here: http://members.iinet.net.au/~davem2/amiga.html


Last edited by Kin Hell; 25 September 2021 at 11:41.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 25 September 2021, 12:28   #14
Jpor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
Thanks
Jpor is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
68040 to 68060 adapter respin with A2000 and Zeus 68040 Accelerator richx support.Hardware 12 19 January 2021 15:36
Amiga a3640 processor card and 68040/68040 processors Euphoria MarketPlace 3 26 February 2017 22:15
Sale: Phase 5 Blizzard PPC 603e+ 68040/25 PPC 240 Mhz wizard66 MarketPlace 6 09 February 2007 18:34
BPPC 603e+ 68040 25mhz OS3.9 DDNI New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 01 October 2006 15:02
TFX and 68040 Amigamancer support.Games 1 12 April 2005 07:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10854 seconds with 15 queries